Chicken Salad over Spinach and Broccoli Slaw

When lunchtime rolls around and there are no leftovers to be found in the fridge, I almost always throw together some sort of salad with staple ingredients that I keep stocked in our household. I absolutely love that salads are fresh and healthy, and I always try my best to keep them different and interesting.

Sunday before last I decided to make a pretty large Chicken Salad to store in the fridge for lunches throughout the week. I served the salad on top of chopped baby spinach and broccoli slaw. I also added chia seeds for added nutrients.

This meal is not only a healthy lunch option, but it’s also one that Brett often asks me to make time and time again.

So, if you are stumped as to what you should prepare this week for lunch, give this recipe a try.

ChickenSaladoverSpinachandBroccolislawChicken Salad

1 whole rotisserie chicken
1/2 cup of plain Greek yogurt
1/2 cup of olive oil based mayonnaise
1-2 stalks of celery, chopped
3 whole green onion, chopped
1/2 cup of sliced almonds
1/2 tablespoon of dill
Juice of one lemon
Salt and pepper

Into a bowl mix all of the ingredients then chill in the refrigerator overnight. Serve with crackers, on bread or on top of a bed of greens.

Dinner Meal Plan for the Week

Monday – Brett is cooking grilled chicken with a cucumber and tomato salad (fresh tomatoes from his Mom’s garden)
Tuesday – Cabbage Casserole
Wednesday – Bang Bang Shrimp Salad with fresh garden tomatoes and red onion.
Thursday – Kale, Sausage and Potato Soup
Friday – Baked turkey legs and asparagus

Workout Plan for the Week

Monday – I took a Body Pump class this morning
Tuesday – Circuit Training
Wednesday – Swimming Laps
Thursday – Swimming Laps
Friday – Walk around the neighborhood

Kudos to my friend Jada for sharing her Chicken Salad recipe with me!

Have a great week guys!

One thought on “Chicken Salad over Spinach and Broccoli Slaw

Leave a Reply

