Our Rehearsal Dinner

Looking back at the past year and two months I would have to say that the day before our wedding day definitely proved to be my most stressful. The main issue for me that day was only having three hours to decorate our reception hall. Being the planner that I am, I had started my décor brainstorming the very next day after my engagement. I had a vision, and since I’m a bit of a perfectionist, the last minute hiccups seemed to stir my anxiety levels more than usual. Thankfully I had help from my parents, and Brett’s Uncle Chris and Aunt Linda. Uncle Chris definitely knows how my OCD can overwhelm my spirit at times, so he did an amazing job of reminding me that the last minute imperfections were beyond my control. He was also right when he stated that no one would notice that the table cloths did not touch the ground.

Since I left The Warehouse later than I expected, I had to rush myself to get ready for our Rehearsal and Rehearsal Dinner. I wasn’t pleasantly happy with the job I did on my makeup or hair, but at the same time I didn’t care since I was overjoyed to see so many of our most important friends and family that evening.

The rehearsal at St. Genevieve took about 30 minutes. That evening we also signed our marriage license and certificate. Father Brian would later sign after our nuptials in order to make our union official.

Marraige Certificateimage3Brett and I asked our brothers to sign as witnesses on our marriage certificate and license.

After signing, we  all headed over to Abacus to enjoy drinks and dinner. Everything about this night was perfection. The food was delicious, the service was excellent, and the stories and speeches were both touching and beautiful. We all shed many tears that night, but at the same time I felt ecstatic that I had finally reached this moment in my life. I was finally going to marry Brett.

Please enjoy the pictures below that were mostly taken by my co-worker Mike. He did an incredible job at documenting the entire night for me. Thanks again Mike!

DSC_0002DSC_0024DSC_0010DSC_0021My parents, brother James and sister-in-law Alisha.

DSC_0023DSC_9998DSC_9999A huge thank you to Brett’s Godfather, Uncle Chris, for arranging the beautiful center pieces.

DSC_0040DSC_0044My brother giving a blessing before our meal.

DSC_0045The crab and corn bisque was great!

DSC_0054Brett then welcomed and thanked everyone for attending.

DSC_0064Then I read my speech.

My Speech

To start, I’d like to personally thank everyone for being here today. Most of you have had to arrange to take off work or traveled a long way to be here and we want to say how much it means to us to share our day with all of you who love us. Today and tomorrow will only be a true celebration since all the people we love will be present with us to share that special moment…you really have made our day.

Brett and I are also so thankful to everyone that has helped us prepare for this very special day. We’d like to personally thank all of our attendants as well as everyone that will serve as part of our ceremony. We are so honored that all of you will be right by our side as we vow to become one with God.

Brett and I could not have even been here today if it weren’t for our parents. To my parents personally, I thank you so much for everything you have taught me in life. How to love, forgive and never give up no matter how hard life seems to be. Your love and encouragement have pushed me to be my very best. Thank you for allowing me to create the wedding of my dreams.  Brett and I are forever grateful for everything you’ve done for us these past 6 and a half years. Especially all of the house updates, Dad! We can never repay either of you for all of the memories we’ve created together transforming our house into our home. We love you both!

And then to Mrs. Tessie…you’ve raised an honest, caring, talented, intelligent, funny, handsome and loving man. Although he is constantly pushing my buttons, I couldn’t have found a better partner in life. Thanks to you and Mr. Mike for molding him into the man he is today. You both taught him how to love, and how to turn to God above. The concern and care Brett shows to me are the things I prize most.  Tomorrow I not only take your last name, but I’ll also honorable become the daughter-in-law of such a precious mother. Although I wish Mr. Mike could be here to see “the awesome back” of my dress, I know that he has a front row seat inside all of our hearts. We remember him, but we love you both always.

And lastly to my future husband… I cannot thank you enough for falling in love with me. I don’t know what I ever did to deserve your love, but I can promise you that I will hold on to it forever. This journey we’re heading on together is definitely not going to be easy, and I can certainly promise you that each tomorrow will never be perfect. But what I can say is that I’ll be with you through it all. I will fight for us, and I will love you unconditionally and faithfully for a lifetime. I will be your support system, your cheerleader, your advisor, your friend, your family, but most of all your everything…I promise! Although marriage seems like we’re finally sealing the deal, I’m excited that it really is only the beginning.  I love you so much, B!

So, now I’d like everyone to raise your glasses. To the best day of Brett and I’s life! Cheers!

DSC_0072DSC_0075I was very emotional since my words were straight from my heart.

DSC_0078Brett’s Mother then shared a few stories.

DSC_0091Then my Dad and Mom toasted to our future!

DSC_0094Brett’s Uncle Chris then sang us a song that he wrote especially for that night.

DSC_0103DSC_0105As you can see he truly captured our hearts.

DSC_0109My Matron of Honor then said a few touching words.

DSC_0113DSC_0117Next up to speak was Brett’s groomsmen, James. Brett collected spoons from each assignment he traveled to while serving in the Marine Corps. James had also traveled alongside Brett and was aware of his collection. That night James presented Brett with a spoon to symbolize that they had found themselves at another significant place in their lives…and they’d shared it together, as they always had. DSC_0120DSC_0127Brett’s  Uncle Tralles then made a beautiful toast on behalf of Brett’s late father, Mr. Mike. DSC_0129My brother then closed out the speeches with very moving words brought down to him by the Holy Spirit.

DSC_0140DSC_0142Brett also presented an old, forgotten, family heirloom to my father. Brett has gotten into the hobby of renewing firearms to their former glory.  My Paw Paw damaged the stock on the shotgun by finishing off a rabbit many years before. After years of being forgotten, My dad and brother showed interest in saving the rusty, broken shotgun. My dad had asked Brett a few months back to give his Grandfather’s old Iver Johnson Champion 12 gauge shotgun a look. Brett rushed the job in order to present the shotgun to three generations of Allemands, who had all once used the shotgun.

DSC_0148My Grandfather, Father, and brother, James, admiring the resurrected shotgun they once used.

DSC_0150DSC_0154Then we gave everyone gifts!DSC_0168Ava was beyond moved by her note from me and B!

DSC_0172We also gifted her a locket which contained a picture of her “Paw”.

DSC_0174IMG_4438IMG_4433I gifted my Mom a picture of me in her wedding dress.
(More images to come in another blog post soon).

IMG_4432I gifted my Dad a handkerchief to use for the ceremony.

IMG_4431Brett and I gifted his Mom a picture that we recreated of she and her husband, Mr. Mike.

DSC_0183Brett and his groomsmen!

DSC_0180My bridesmaids and I.

Thanks to everyone for making this night so memorable and special for Brett and I. We realized after this night how much we are truly loved by family and close friends. All of love, Brett and Celina!

One thought on “Our Rehearsal Dinner

  1. Pingback: My Mom’s Wedding Dress | My Cajun Trinity

Leave a Reply

