How to Remove Candle Wax?

Hello, hello!

I hope you all enjoyed your extended holiday weekend! As for me, I used my three day weekend to not only deep clean my home, but also to clean and organize all of the reception décor that we used for our wedding. This mainly involved removing candle wax from hurricane vases and candle votives. It was a tedious task, but I’m pretty proud to report that I successfully cleaned each and every piece.

IMG_4483
As expected, I turned to Pinterest to research the best possible way to remove the wax. In the past I’ve used boiling water. Although this works, the extremely hot water will cause the candle wax to melt very quickly. In my experience this has caused a huge mess when removing the water from the vase or votive. Not to mention an argument or two with Brett since dumping wax down the drain will likely cause horrible clogs in our pipes.

Since I wanted to avoid clogging our pipes and confrontation from my new husband, I decided to fill the vases and votives with very hot water instead.

IMG_4482
After allowing the votives  to sit in hot water for a few minutes, I then took a butter knife and carefully extracted the wax from each candle holder.

IMG_4484
Voila!

I then dumped the water and excess wax into an old pot, which I later dumped into our front ditch.

Over the weekend I also made this Zesty Lime Shrimp and Avocado salad. It was light, easy to put together, but most of all full of flavor.

IMG_4480

I also started reading Me Before You by Jojo Moyes.

avant-toi-461278

Picture Source: simplyoloni.com

I’m already halfway through the book, so as you can tell it’s definitely a fantastic read. If you would like to read along with me, I’m hoping to open up a book discussion through the blog in exactly one month.

And before I close this post I’d like to share this week’s meal and workout plan.

Meal Plan

Breakfast – Fried eggs, scrambled eggs or Honey Nut Cheerios with almond milk.

Lunch – Leftovers from dinner or a homemade salad using leftover rotisserie chicken.

Dinner

Tuesday – Rotisserie Chicken, Smothered Cabbage and cucumber and tomato salad.

IMG_4485Wednesday – Chicken Quesadillas and Guacamole
Thursday – Brett to cook since it’s my BIRTHDAY!
Friday – Stuffed Bell Peppers

Workout Plan

Tuesday – Circuit Training
Wednesday – Step Aerobics
Thursday – Circuit Training
Friday – Cycling

Have a fantastic week!

 

2 thoughts on “How to Remove Candle Wax?

  1. Caitlin

    I also find that freezing the candle holders works well to get the wax out, and it’s a little less messy! I’ll freeze a jar for a day or two, then run it under hot water. The wax stays solid, but it’ll crack into pieces and fall right out. However, for as many jars you had, that would take forever! 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. My Cajun Trinity Post author

      I actually did try freezing a few, but didn’t think to run under hot water. Duh! And yes, it probably would have taken me forever had I gone that route. I’m just so glad that this project is over! : )

      Like

      Reply

Leave a Reply

