Roasted Chicken and Veggies

Hey Guys!

Wow, what an incredible, memorable weekend for the books. This past Friday I traveled to St. Francisville with my neighbor Carmen to take my pre-bridals at Greenwood Plantation. The weather was gorgeous, and I was absolutely impressed with all of my vendor’s wonderful talents. My bouquet was exactly what I envisioned, my make-up and hair was fabulous, and I have no doubts that the images I will receive from my photographer will be anything less than perfect.

Thanks again to my florist, Root Floral Design, my makeup artist and hair stylist, Beauty by Victoria, my photographer, Mark Eric, and last but not least my neighbor Carmen for being my personal assistant for the day! I cannot wait to share the images with you guys, but not until after the wedding of course!

In the midst of all the last minute wedding planning, I’ve still managed to keep my meals balanced and my workouts sweaty. Check out this week’s menu and workout plan below.

Breakfast: Yesterday I made myself an onion, spinach and mushroom omelet. Today and the rest of the week will be my usual banana and Skippy Natural PB or fried or scrambled eggs.

Lunch: I have four lunch meetings this week, so I’m hoping to choose my menu options wisely. Wish me luck! And since this Friday is Good Friday, I plan on eating very lightly (probably one of my made ahead smoothies).

Dinner:

Monday: Roasted Chicken with onions, potatoes and carrots (Last night leftovers and I also share the recipe below).
Tuesday: My Maw Maw’s homemade hamburger patties on whole wheat sandwich thins served with sweet potato fries.
Wednesday: Brett to cook
Thursday: Megan’s Peppered Steak served with roasted asparagus.
Friday: Cheese Tortellini with spinach, mushrooms and marinara sauce.

Workouts:

Monday: Step Aerobics (I’ve been enjoying Step the past few weeks. It’s a great change-up, and since the class is never the same, it seems to go by pretty quickly. And since most moves are choreographed it reminds me of my dancing days)
Tuesday: Circuit Training
Wednesday:  Step Aerobics
Thursday: Circuit Training
Friday: At-home workout

Side note: Normally I’d be transitioning some of my workouts to the pool in order to swim laps since the weather is warming up, but because I’m trying to avoid tan lines for the wedding I won’t be sharing swim workouts until after I’m a married woman!

Roasted Chicken and Veggies

IMG_3874

1 whole chicken cut into pieces
2 red potatoes, cubed
12-15 baby carrots
1 onion, roughly chopped
1 teaspoon Garlic Powder
Salt and Pepper to taste
1 stick of butter, cut into half inch pieces

Preheat your oven to 375°. Place your potatoes, carrots and onions onto the bottom of a casserole dish. Season your chicken with salt, pepper and garlic powder. Then place the seasoned chicken on top of the vegetables. Place a piece of butter on top of each piece of chicken. Place a sheet of aluminum foil on top of the dish and bake for an hour and fifteenth minutes. Flipping the chicken half way and add the remaining butter.

And just for fun, I wanted to share this incredibly adorable picture of my flower girl and I at Jennifer’s baby shower weekend before last. I love this little girl way too much!

IMG_3803

Hope you all have a great week!

Leave a Reply

