Weekend Update 2.22.2015

Hey Guys!

As always, I hope you all had a marvelous weekend! As for mine, it was definitely quite eventful, and also filled with quality family time as well as lots of yummy food. My weekend also started a day early since I took a vacation day on Friday in order to travel to New Orleans for my second wedding dress fitting. My dress fit perfectly, and I also found out that I’ll be able to take my dress home next weekend since all of the alterations will finally be done. Yay!

After my fitting, my Mom and I met up with one of my bridesmaids, Grace, for lunch. Since it was the first Friday during Lent, I had asked Grace to select a restaurant for us that offered meatless entrees. I had asked Grace to decide on our lunch destination since she has been a NOLA resident for over ten years. Her pick for the day was Surrey’s Cafe and Juice Bar. After browsing the menu, I decided to select the Lunch Combo. This included half of an Avocado Pesto Sandwich, a cup of their Shrimp Bisque and a side salad with a Balsamic Vinaigrette dressing.

SurreysCafeAvocadoPesto
I absolutely loved the sandwich and salad, but the Shrimp Bisque had a funny after taste that didn’t exactly agree with my taste-buds. Overall, I was pleasantly pleased with our dining experience, and I especially enjoyed catching up with Grace.

We headed back to Lafayette after lunch where my Dad and Brett were awaiting our return. That night my parents grilled catfish for dinner. They topped each of the filets with a St. James sauce and served everything with a side of mixed vegetables.

St.JamesSauceonCatfish
My parents had been raving about this meal for a few weeks, and after serving myself seconds I finally understood why since everything was delicious.

We all woke up pretty early the next morning since everyone’s agenda for the day was pretty full. Brett also fueled us with a pretty nutritional breakfast.

BreakfastatHome
That morning we all enjoyed fried eggs and bacon with a slice of whole wheat toast.

After breakfast, my Dad and Brett started painting the pantry/laundry room.

LaundryRoomBefore

Check out the green paint that was hiding behind our washer and dryer. This time around, my Dad and Brett will paint the whole wall correctly.

Replaster

During this visit, my Dad also did a bit of re-plastering to the wall that we patched up due to our recent column demolition.

While my Dad and Brett were working on the house, my Mom and I met up with Brett’s Uncle Chris in order to check out our wedding reception venue. That afternoon we were able to ask questions and take lots of pictures. I have a pretty good idea of how I want the venue to be decorated, but I wanted Uncle Chris’ opinions in order to help me brainstorm. His thoughts were greatly appreciated, and I think I finally feel confident about my ideas.

Since the kitchen was pretty much out of order due to the current house updates, we decided to dine out at Blue Dog Cafe Saturday evening.

Brett had a bit of fun creating some table artwork last night.

BlueDogCafeTableArt4BlueDogCafeTableArt
I also tried to create a butterfly, but obviously you can see that drawing is not one of my better talents.

That night we started with two appetizers. I’ve dined at Blue Dog Cafe a few times before, so I suggested that we order the Seafood Wontons…my favorite starter. And as usual, they were fantastic.

BlueDogCafeAppetizers
We also selected the Seafood Stuffed Mushrooms that night. Although they were pretty good, they were no where near as good as the Seafood Wontons.

I selected another personal favorite that night for my main dish which was the Crawfish Tasso Alfredo. It was wonderful as usual, and due to the larger serving I was able to bring a good bit of the dish home for leftovers later.

BlueDogCafeEntreeandDessert

And of course, we could not end the night without getting dessert. We decided to share one slice of blueberry cheesecake. It was the perfect way to end such a delightful evening with the people I love most.

BlueDogCafe
Today we all woke up pretty early in order to attend 9 am mass. Then afterwards we headed to T-Coon’s for breakfast. I ordered the Breakfast Plate which consisted of scrambled egg whites, bacon, wheat toast and potatoes.

TCoonsBreakfastPlate
Everything was great, especially the Mellow Joy coffee.

MellowJoyCoffee

T-Coon’s is hands down my favorite breakfast joint in Lafayette. Definitely scope this place out if you are ever in town during breakfast hours, but be prepared to wait a bit for a table.

When we returned home, my Dad and Brett continued to work on the pantry/laundry room while my Mom worked on re-sealing the grout in our guest bathroom.

GroutRenewStainandSealGroutRenewStainandSeal2
What an amazing difference, right? She’s using Polyblend Grout Renew in Haystack, which is a color and sealer. It basically makes the floor look cleaner, and it will also be easier to clean in the future since the grout will be sealed.

I’m so very appreciative to both my parents and Brett for all of their hard work this weekend. I’ll also be sure to share the after pictures with you guys later this week.

Enjoy the rest of your evening.

Leave a Reply

