Smoothie Prep for the Freezer

Happy Mardi Gras everyone!

I actually went into work today thinking that I would have to work a full day, but luckily I received an email during lunch that our office was going to close at 12:30 pm. Since Brett was also stuck at work today, I decided to make the most out of my day since this free time was quite unexpected. I won’t lie to you guys, I actually enjoyed a few hours on the couch being quite lazy. But since the day was absolutely gorgeous outside, I decided to take a stroll around the neighborhood for a three mile walk. It was a bit chilly, but it was a beautiful walk nonetheless.

IMG_3557
When I returned home I decided to clean out the freezer. My reasoning for doing this was to make room since I’ve been wanting to assemble a few freezer smoothie packs. I came across the idea on Pinterest a few months ago, and I thought it was beyond clever since making smoothies usually creates a mess and also requires a bit of time. I knew I’d be assembling the packs this week, so two days ago I went ahead and filled an ice tray with plain Greek yogurt. Before heading out for my walk I placed the frozen yogurt tray into the refrigerator so that is could thaw.

IMG_3559
When I returned from my walk and was finally ready to put everything together, I then took out all of my frozen fruits, a large bunch of spinach, the frozen yogurt tray, and chia seeds. Then,  randomly I placed different mixtures into five different freezer storage bags. Basically 1-2 cups of frozen fruit, three cubes of frozen yogurt, a tablespoon of chia seeds, and a large handful of spinach.

IMG_3558
Each pack is now loaded with all the ingredients needed to make a delicious, nutritious smoothie. They can be consumed for breakfast or even an afternoon snack without the fuss of grabbing ingredients or cleaning up a huge mess. All I’ll need to do now is place the contents into a blender then add almond milk and a few tablespoons of almond or peanut butter.

IMG_3560
And since it’s Mardi Gras, I thought it only fair to remind you guys of one of my favorite smoothie recipes….the Mardi Gras Smoothie!

imageIf you were able to enjoy a parade or two this year, I hope you had a fantastic time. I’m hoping that Brett and I’s schedule works out better for us next year so that we can participate in Mardi Gras once again. Although I don’t particular care for getting beads thrown at my face, I do enjoy watching the floats drive by from a distance.

But now that Fat Tuesday is almost over, I hope that my freezer smoothie packs can be inspiration for all of you. Especially those that may be participating in the Lenten season. All of my smoothie recipes do not contain meat, so they could easily be consumed as a “lighter” meal throughout your spiritual journey.

2 thoughts on “Smoothie Prep for the Freezer

  1. Pingback: Five Things Friday | My Cajun Trinity

  2. Pingback: Roasted Chicken and Veggies | My Cajun Trinity

Leave a Reply

