Friday Finds XI

The sun is finally out, and it’s Friday! Woo hoo!

The weekend is right around the corner, and I’m looking forward to a very “Ava” filled weekend. I’ll be sitting her tonight. then I’m heading to New Orleans tomorrow in order for Ava to get her Flower Girl dress fitted for our upcoming wedding! I’ve also got a few other plans up my sleeves, but I’ll update you guys on those details next week.

Before we kick off the weekend, I wanted to share with you guys today’s Friday Find. I actually discovered this item a few months back, but wanted to wait to share it with all of you until I knew that I was 100% satisfied with my purchase.

If you are anything like me, you probably think that the price for razors these days is pretty ridiculous. I think the prices are up to $20 for four cartilages nowadays. Unfortunately, I have to shave my legs everyday. Yes, I know you might think I’m crazy for partaking in this horrid task daily, but I just can’t stand the feel of prickly legs at night since I wear pajama shorts. Sorry, TMI. By using my razor daily, I’ve had to change the cartilages quite frequently, therefore causing me to cringe at the high price every time I need replacements.

I always looked past the ads for the Dollar Shave Club on Facebook since I figured they would be junk with such a low price tag. But after a coworker of mine told me that his wife gave the club two thumbs up, I decided to hop on the bandwagon. I figured there would be no harm getting one month’s worth of razors since you could opt out at any time.

DSC03827

I chose the 4X package for only $6 a month, and I’m happy to report that this razor performed beyond my expectations. Since I now only have to replace my cartilage about every two weeks, I was able to adjust my delivery frequency to every other month. The great news about the club is that there are no fees, no commitment, you can cancel anytime, and the cartilages ship free. They also allow you to change your razor plan at anytime. After reading a few reviews, I’m actually thinking of upgrading to The Executive since many people have reported that it’s one of the smoothest shaves they’ve ever experienced.

Now that I’m a member of the Dollar Shave Club, I’ve gone from paying $20 a month for razors to now only $3 a month. If you feel like you are losing money to razors, I highly recommend you at least try the program out for a month. I guarantee that you will not be disappointed. Happy shaving!

Past MCT Friday Finds:

Friday Finds I
Friday Finds II
Friday Finds III
Friday Finds IV
Friday Finds V
Friday Finds VI
Friday Finds VII
Friday Finds VIII
Friday Finds IX
Friday Finds X

This Past Week

Now for the sad news…I finally took my Christmas tree down as well as all of my other Christmas décor.

image3

It always hurts a little bit to see it all disappear, and I can definitely say that there is an empty void in our living area now. Goodbye beautiful Christmas tree…until next year.

And before we part ways today I’d like to report to all of you that I did pretty well sticking to my meal and workout plans this week. Since Brett was out of town for the past two nights I had enough ingredients to make the Ginger Steak Salad below twice. Since the Smothered Cabbage went uncooked, I’m planning to add that recipe to next week’s meal plan.

image2

I liked the Ginger Steak Salad; however, I would highly recommend cutting the amount of sugar down to only a pinch. I decided to alter the recipe last night since the sauce was entirely too sweet for my taste buds the first time around. This adjustment also made the salad about five times healthier.

image

I also wanted to report that this Sausage, Potato and Kale Soup was given rave reviews by Brett. He actually turned his nose when he asked me what I was cooking that night, but was so pleasantly surprised that he had the soup for lunch the next day as well.

As for my exercise this week, I was able to complete every workout on last week’s plan except for today’s Body Pump class. Since I skipped out this morning, I made sure to get in a 15 minute walk for both of my breaks today.

What are you loving lately? Did you meet your goals for the week?

I hope you all have a fantastic weekend!

One thought on “Friday Finds XI

  1. Pingback: Weekend Update – 1.18.2015 | My Cajun Trinity

Leave a Reply

