First Meal and Workout Plan for the Week

Quick Weekend Update

Brett and I returned home Sunday from a pretty fantastic weekend spent in Morgan City. On Friday night we indulged in fried duck alongside of Brett’s cousin Amanda and her family. Since Brett spent the next day dove hunting, I headed to the movie theatre with his Mom. That afternoon we watched Into the Woods. I wanted to love this movie so much, and I think I probably would have had it ended 30 minutes earlier. But, I just wasn’t a fan since the Disney movie introduced cheating, and there was not a happily ever after ending. I understood what they were trying to do, but I just didn’t like it guys. Sorry.

Later that evening, and once Brett returned from his hunt, we headed to Ben and Katie’s for gumbo and a small bonfire. Ben and Katie just recently got engaged so I was beyond excited to congratulate the both of them in person. Ben and Katie also invited a few of our other couple friends over that night as well. We were able to catch up with Gatlin and Leah as well as Hope and Twinky. Brett’s cousin Derek showed up a bit later as well. And, I cannot forget to mention these two little cuties…

IMG_3268

That night Katie was babysitting her sister’s little boy Owen, and Hope and Tyler also brought along their daughter Ellie. The both of them were so well behaved and ultra sweet. I hated seeing the night end, but it was so great laughing and enjoying the company of wonderful friends.

Meal and Workout Plan for the Week

A few weeks ago I mentioned on the blog that I wanted to introduce meal and workout plans for the week. The best way that I succeed with my health and wellness goals is by having a plan, then actually sticking to the plan. My guide may be a little late, but I figured I’d post it anyway in case you’d like to use it for next week.

Meals

Breakfast: Each morning this week I’ll either have a banana with Natural Skippy Peanut Butter, scrambled or fried eggs. or plain Greek yogurt with frozen fruit (either pineapple, blueberries, or strawberries).

Lunch: Monday – Leftover Chinese Food (not healthy at all, but I didn’t want to waste the leftovers); Tuesday – Chicken and Spinach Salad with Vinaigrette dressing and black bean soup from Blue Agave (Marketing meeting); Wednesday – Leftover BBQ Chicken Pizza; Thursday – Leftover Sausage, Potato and Kale soup; Friday – Leftover Smothered Cabbage

Dinner: Monday – BBQ Chicken Pizza (recipe below); Tuesday – Ree’s Sausage, Potato and Kale Soup; Wednesday – Ree’s Ginger Steak Salad; Thursday – Smothered Cabbage; Friday – Either Brett will cook something or we will go out for dinner.

I’ve bought all the ingredients for the meals above, but the order in which I cook and eat them may vary. I will also be doing my best to consume half my weight in ounces of water daily, and I may snack on nuts or a smoothie in between lunch and dinner…depending on my hunger level.

Last night I made a BBQ Chicken Pizza for dinner. This recipe is a staple meal that I’ve been using for quite a few years now. It’s fairly easy to prepare, and I served it with a cucumber and tomato salad for added nutrients.

IMG_3267

BBQ Chicken Pizza

Pizza Crust (I usually make Lindsey’s whole wheat crust,  but this week I opted for Pillsbury Thin Pizza Crust due to time constraints)
5-6 Chicken Tenderloins
Olive Oil
Salt and Pepper
1 Red Onion, sliced
1 Bell pepper, sliced
BBQ Sauce
1/2 cup of Colby Jack Cheese, freshly grated

Preheat your oven to 400°. In a medium saucepan, heat up your olive oil. Place your chicken tenderloins in the pan then season with salt and pepper. Cook about 7-8 minutes are until fully cooked, then cube chicken and set aside. Place your red onion and bell pepper in the same saucepan. Add a little more olive oil and saute about 5-6 minutes. Place your pizza dough into the oven for 5 minutes. After, take the pizza dough out then brush BBQ sauce onto the dough, then add the chicken, bell pepper, red onion, and grated cheese. Place the pizza back into the oven for another 8-10 minutes. Enjoy!

Workouts

Monday: 30 minutes of cardio; Tuesday – Circuit Training; Wednesday – Cycling; Thursday – Circuit Training; Friday: Body Pump

So, there you have it guys…my plan for the week. You may notice that not all of my recipes this week are crazy healthy. This is ok for me since I try to follow a balanced diet most weeks. I basically stick to these simple rules: Shop the perimeter of the store as much as possible, include a vegetable with each meal, and cook at least one or two Paleo inspired meals a week (Ginger Steak Salad and Smothered Cabbage). If a vegetable is skipped, I try to squeeze in a spinach loaded smoothie as a snack.

I hope that my meal and workout planning will inspire you. In the end, remember that even the smallest change can make a difference as long as you continue to make that change consistent.

Have a wonderful week!

6 thoughts on “First Meal and Workout Plan for the Week

  1. Pingback: Friday Finds XI | My Cajun Trinity

  2. Pingback: Meal and Workout Plan – Week 2 | My Cajun Trinity

  3. Pingback: Chicken Salad over Spinach and Broccoli Slaw | My Cajun Trinity

  4. Pingback: Workout Box – TRX Training | My Cajun Trinity

  5. Pingback: A Weekend on the Water | My Cajun Trinity

Leave a Reply

