Paleo Friendly Cabbage Rolls

Hey Guys!

I wanted to share a recipe with you guys that may help kickstart your New Year’s resolution to start eating a bit healthier in 2015.

Last night I decided to make these Cabbage Rolls in order to stick with the lucky New Year’s food traditions. According to tradition, the cabbage is green therefore representing money, wealth and prosperity, and the pork represents progress since pigs are always moving forward. And good news, my recipe is paleo friendly.

Cabbage Rolls

DSC04110

1 large head of cabbage
1 pound of lean ground meat
1 pound of ground pork
1/2 white onion, diced finely
1 1/2 cup of grated cauliflower
1/2 teaspoon of kosher or sea salt
1 teaspoon black pepper
1/2 teaspoon garlic powder
16 oz. crushed tomatoes
8 oz. tomato sauce
Olive Oil

I began by grating my cauliflower in a food processor. Then I combined the meat, pork, salt, pepper and garlic powder in a large bowl. Next, chop up your onion, then add to a medium saucepan along with the cauliflower and about a tablespoon of olive oil. Sauté for about 5-8 minutes. While your cauliflower/onion mixture is cooking, go ahead and take the core out of your cabbage and boil for about 5 minutes. Add the cauliflower and onion mixture to your meat. Once your cabbage is ready, let it cool, then peel the leaves apart. Add about a half of a cup of the meat mixture to a leaf, then roll with the stem facing downward. Mix the crushed tomatoes and tomato sauce together in a medium bowl. Place half of the tomato mixture to the bottom of casserole dish, then place your rolls on top. Finish by adding the remaining tomato mixture on top of the rolls. Place foil on the casserole dish, then bake for an hour and a half at 350°.

DSC04116

Brett also decided to make a black bean soup for us to enjoy with our Cabbage Rolls last night. Everything was delicious, but more importantly healthy.

I had intentions of heading to the gym this afternoon, but when I tried to leave my car would not start. No worries, the battery is only corroded and just needs to be cleaned. However, I’ll likely have to get another battery soon. Since Brett is at work today I was unable to get to the gym at all, but I didn’t let this discourage my intentions of getting in a sweat session. I decided to do a 7 minute workout, then headed out the door to enjoy a 2 mile walk around my neighborhood. When I returned from my walk, I was ready for lunch so I went ahead and reheated two of the Cabbage Rolls.

Now I’m heading to the shower to begin getting ready for my boss’s wedding! I’m so thrilled for him, and cannot wait to witness their very special day! Congratulations to the happy couple!

2 thoughts on “Paleo Friendly Cabbage Rolls

  1. Pingback: Meal and Workout Plan – Week 4 | My Cajun Trinity

  2. Pingback: Week and Workout Plan – Week 5 | My Cajun Trinity

Leave a Reply

