Happy New Year – 2015!

Happy New Year’s to you and all of the ones you love!

Well guys, I can tell you without a doubt that 2014 was my favorite year so far in my life. Blogging became a passion of mine, I got engaged, and our house went through many projects that ultimately made it feel so much more like a home. I have high hopes for the year to come, so bring it on 2015!

Since Brett had the day off yesterday, we decided to meet up for lunch at Bread and Circus Provisions. I usually get swooned by their special of the day, but during our visit yesterday I decided to order a sandwich I had been eyeing for a while. I ordered the French Onion Grilled Cheese with belly bacon. Ooooweeee, this sandwich was painfully good…especially the bacon.

IMG_3167

I’d still like to try a few other items on the menu, but I think it will be very hard knowing how glorious this sandwich was yesterday. Brett order the Beef Tongue sandwich again, and we also shared a side of corn grits and bread pudding. In my last review of the restaurant I did mention that the wait was a bit long, but we realized yesterday that everyone else’s orders only took about 5-8 minutes. We think that the preparation of the Beef Tongue sandwich could be the blame for the longer wait. Definitely check out this awesome farm to table style restaurant soon!

Later that evening Brett and I headed to our neighbor’s house in order to ring in the New Year. Kirk and Ronda had finger foods, turkey, mac and cheese and other goodies for us to nibble on during the festivity.

IMG_3168

Everything was delicious. Don’t you just love cocktail wieners and meatballs? I know they are not the healthiest, but I just can’t ever deny them.

We spent the night mingling with all the guest. It was great catching up with those that we did know, but we also met a few new faces too.

The best part of the night for me was getting a chance to shoot a few hoops since Kirk and Ronda have a basketball goal in their driveway. I totally beat Brett at Around the World. Ha! I had so much fun, and couldn’t believe how easy it was to get back in my groove. It was also great sneaking in a pretty awesome workout!

Later in the night Kirk presented a bottle of wine to me that he received as a Christmas gift. Since he doesn’t particular care for the juice, he decided to regift it to me. He too knows my obsession with wine.

IMG_3172It was excellent and full of flavor. I cannot wait to have another glass. Thanks again Kirk!

Right before midnight Brett’s brother, Matt, and his wife, Lauren, joined the party. It was so nice to celebrate with family. Brett and I moved to Lafayette in order to raise our family alongside the both of them and Ava. I can honestly say that it really is great to have family at an arm’s reach.

10676404_10205899057054416_7461067291192588377_n

Once midnight struck, I got a kiss from my better half, and we enjoyed the most beautiful display of fireworks. It was so wonderful to be consumed with so much joy and happiness as we all welcomed the New Year!

IMG_3174

I hope that all of your wishes come true in 2015! Now, let me get back to my normal workout routine and much healthier lifestyle. First up, Paleo friendly Cabbage Rolls! Stay tuned…

Leave a Reply

