Congrats Ellen and Philip!

Over this past weekend Brett and I attended Ellen and Philip’s wedding right here in Lafayette. Ellen is one of Brett’s co-workers at the hospital. I absolutely love hanging out with all of Brett’s co-workers, so I was really looking forward to this outing for quite some time. The wedding ceremony took place at St. John the Evangelist, which is the cathedral located near downtown Lafayette. The details throughout the ceremony were beautiful, and Ellen’s dress was absolutely stunning.

After the ceremony, we headed to the Cajundome Convention Center for drinks and dancing, but most of all to celebrate the new, happy couple.

image7

I was super excited that Mojeaux was the selected band for their reception. I had tried to book them for our wedding, but unfortunately they were not available for our date. The band was so much fun, and Brett and I enjoyed several dances on the dance floor that afternoon.

image

I also noticed that Ellen hired Catherine Guidry to do her photography. I actually follow Catherine’s blog, and adore her work so much. Her pictures are soft and elegant. They really capture the romance between all of her clients. I thought it was super impressive that Catherine already had some of the ceremony pictures loaded to a laptop for the guest to view photos as they waited for their drinks at the bar.

image6

Pretty neat huh?

Another new trend I’ve been seeing at wedding receptions has been to hire an artist to paint a picture of your reception while it’s actually happening.

image4

image5

I actually chatted a bit with the artist, and took a business card from him as well. If you are interested in hiring him, be sure to check out his website for more contact information. Now Ellen and Philip will have a piece of artwork to remember their special day forever.

image2Congrats again to Ellen and Philip, and thanks so much for inviting us…we had a fabulous time!

After the reception we headed to The Tap Room in River Ranch to continue the celebration! It was a very eventful day, and we had so much fun with really great people!

image8

Brett with his co-workers Troy and April!

image9

And the bride showed up to the after party for a bit too! How cute is her going away dress!

I thought for sure that our Sunday would consist of nonethingness, but for some strange reason I was full of energy the next day. I completed all of my Sunday rituals, and even cleaned the house from top to bottom. But, during my trip to the grocery store I got in a tiny fender bender.

image10

The good news is that everyone involved in the accident is well today, and no one was given a ticket since the accident occurred in a private parking lot. State Farm has been amazing throughout my claim process, and I’m hoping to have my bumper replaced real soon. Brett actually ran my car into my old neighbor’s garage a few years ago, and just recently touched up his boo boo. We knew deep down inside if we were to get the bumper replaced way back then that my car was sure to be struck again…sure enough, we thought right. I’m just blessed that the accident was very minor.

Since I was not able to have my Mom’s Turkey Nuggets for Thanksgiving this year, I asked Brett if we could cook them for dinner Sunday night. I know, everyone looks at me a bit strange when I speak of my Mom’s Turkey Nuggets, but I promise you that they are AMAZING! Brett was actually given a turkey from his employer this year, so we used the breast of the turkey to make the meal this past weekend. I paired the meal with Ree’s recipe for Mushroom Pilaf, which was also super delicious. It’s not the healthiest of meals, but if you’re willing to indulge here is the recipe.

Turkey Nuggets

1 breast of turkey
Egg
Mustard
Salt and pepper
Tony Chachere’s seasoning (or any other Cajun spice)
Zatarain’s Chick-Fri
Flour
Cooking oil (we used corn oil)

Clean turkey breast and remove skin and bone. Cut into small nugget size pieces. Mix egg and mustard together, then add turkey and season well with salt, pepper and Tony C’s. Marinate in refrigerator for a few hours or overnight for better results.

Coat marinated nuggets with Chick-Fri and flour mixture and deep fry. Serve nuggets with sweet and sour sauce (recipe below).

Sweet and Sour Sauce

Ketchup
Water
Sugar
Vinegar
Cornstarch
1 jar of cherries – no stems
1 small can of pineapple chunks

Mix equal amount of ketchup, water, sugar and small amount of vinegar in pot. Mix and heat all ingredients together. Thicken with cornstarch and water. Add cherries and pineapples with juices. Heat for a little while and serve with turkey nuggets. Enjoy!

image11

I’m finishing off my Christmas decorating tonight, so I’ll hopefully have a post for you guys real soon! Until then…goodnight!

One thought on “Congrats Ellen and Philip!

  1. Pingback: Rotisserie Chicken and Toby’s Birthday | My Cajun Trinity

Leave a Reply

