Thanksgiving 2014

Hey Guys! I hope you all enjoyed your Thanksgiving with the ones you love most. Although I enjoyed my time away from work, I’m definitely ready to get back to my normal routine. I tried my best to stick to my own holiday tips, but as I presumed I fell off the tracks just a tad bit.

I feel like so much has happened over the past few days, so I’ll probably split the highlights of our time off through several post this coming week.

The night before Thanksgiving I baked cookies to bring over to Brett’s Aunt Linda’s house. I acquired a recipe from my Aunt Karen for Almond Pecan Junies a few years ago, and it has always been a crowd pleaser. Check out the recipe below.

Almond Pecan Junies

1 box of yellow cake mix
1/2 cup vegetable oil
3/4 cup of chopped pecans
2 eggs
1 tablespoon of almond extract

Mix all ingredients, scoop onto ungreased baking sheet, then bake at 350° for 10 minutes.

Glazed Icing

1 cup of powdered sugar
2-3 tablespoons of milk (I actually used almond milk this time around)
1/2 tablespoon of almond extract

Mix all ingredients then drizzle on top of baked cookies.

DSC03996I also baked some sugar cookies to bring to the festivities as well. I found the recipe for these last year from Julie’s blog, Peanut Butter Fingers. Truth be told, I much rather the sugar cookies! Thanks for sharing your recipe Julie. The Almond Pecan Junies are just too sweet for me, and I only continue to bake them to make everyone else happy. If you have a sweet tooth, you’ll love both cookie recipes.

DSC03997

Thanksgiving Day

Before we headed to Morgan City Thanksgiving morning, my parents stopped by our house on their way to Cut Off. We were able to enjoy a quick coffee visit before hitting the road to our own destinations. As much as Brett and I wanted to split the day up between both of our families, we ultimately decided to stay with only his side of the family this year. Brett will be working Christmas Day this month, so I’m hoping to make a trip to the bayou then.

Of course I forgot to snap a picture of my plate before digging in, but I did manage to get the shot below before clearing it completely. I tried my best to serve myself a “little bit” of every thing. My favorites were definitely the rice dressing and stuffing. I’m just not a huge turkey fan…unless it’s my Mom’s turkey nuggets (post to come on this soon).

DSC03998

After everyone was finished eating we enjoyed catching up with one another, then later that evening Brett and I headed to his cousin Adam’s house for a few adult beverages and a fire. It was a great conclusion to a wonderful day spent with family.

Friday

The next morning I woke up ealier than I expected. Ava had spent the night at her Granny’s, and she insisted that we watch the movie Frozen together that morning. I hadn’t fallen into the Frozen craze yet, so I agreed in order to see what all the fuss was about. I have to admit that the movie is super precious, and I’m so happy that I was able to watch it for the first time with Ava. She sang and danced along to most of the songs which was pure joy to witness.

After the movie, Ava and I along with her Granny made homemade bird feeders. We spread peanut butter on pinecones then rolled them in bird seed.

DSC04008

It was a great way to end our visit in Morgan City. Later that afternoon Brett and I headed back to Lafayette, and once we were back in town we headed to Lowe’s to purchase our Christmas tree.  I’ll be sure to do a post soon of all the decorating throughout the house.

And last, but not least. I have another engagement picture to share with you guys. We actually sent out our Save the Dates via email last week, and this was the image we used. I’ll hopefully share more with you guys soon!

DSC_0384

Enjoy the rest of your evening!

2 thoughts on “Thanksgiving 2014

  1. Pingback: It’s beginning to look a lot like Christmas! | My Cajun Trinity

Leave a Reply

