When Brett is away, I eat SUPER healthy!

I know I promised you guys that I’d post a recipe yesterday, but I was a little preoccupied swooning over my engagement picture proofs last night. I loved almost all 255 pictures that Mark captured last month, and I’m not really sure how I’ll ever be able to pick and choose the ones I love most. Brett will be returning from a two night stay in Morgan City tonight, and we have intentions of narrowing down our absolute favorites to 15-20 images this evening. Mark will then enhance those images for us, then I’ll finally be able to share them with you guys.

Since Brett has been away in Morgan City, I’ve been on my own for dinner the past two nights. When he is home I do my best to keep our meals balanced, and I must admit that he never complains and always clears his plate. But, when I’m on my own for dinner it gives me the chance to explore recipes I know Brett won’t enjoy…like meatless meals. Yes, I went vegetarian Tuesday night and cooked Eggplant Pizzas. Even though the meal was meatless it was still very filling. Check out the easy peasy recipe below:

Eggplant Pizzas

image3

1 8-9 inch eggplant
Salt and pepper
Olive Oil
3 cloves of garlic
1 14.5 ounce can of diced tomatoes (no salt added)
Italian seasoning
Dried oregano
Fresh basil
1/2 cup low-fat mozzarella cheese
1/2 cup parmesan cheese

Preheat oven to 375°. Slice your eggplant about 3/4 of an inch thick. Place the eggplant on a double layered paper towel, then generously salt. This will remove the excess water. Let these sit while you begin to make the sauce. Start by cooking a good amount of garlic (3 cloves) in olive oil. Then add the can of diced tomatoes, and season with Italian seasoning and oregano. Let the sauce simmer. After 30 minutes, pat your eggplants to remove most of salt, then brush olive oil on each medallion and sprinkle with Italian seasoning. Let roast for 25 minutes in oven. While the eggplant is roasting, thinly slice fresh basil. Once the eggplants are done, top each of the medallions with sauce, basil and cheese. Broil them until the cheese is melted and serve.

image2

So delicious! I ate the leftovers for lunch yesterday, then last night I prepared myself a chicken, bacon and avocado salad. In the salad was romaine lettuce, tomatoes, green onion slivers, avocado, bacon and grilled chicken. I coated the salad with a Garlic Vinaigrette Dressing. See recipe below.

Garlic Vinaigrette Dressing

1/2 cup apple cider vinegar
2 cloves of garlic, minced
Italian seasoning
1 tablespoon of Dijon mustard
salt and pepper
1/2 cup of olive oil

Mix all ingredients together and enjoy!

image5

So, what was Brett doing while I was home alone? As some of you know, it’s hunting season. So, Brett used his days off to enjoy a few squirrel hunts in Belle River. Below is a picture from his kill yesterday.

image4

Sorry for the graphic image to all my animal lovers out there. I promise he was killing them in order to provide our home a few meals on the table and not simply for pleasure.

Now I’m off to narrow down our pictures. Wish me luck and enjoy the rest of your evening!

One thought on “When Brett is away, I eat SUPER healthy!

  1. Pingback: ONE YEAR | My Cajun Trinity

Leave a Reply

