First Publication and Promoting Chili!

Wow, I feel like I have so much to talk about today, and I’m not really sure where to start…

First off, I’m so happy to finally tell you guys that My Cajun Trinity was published in Acadiana Lifestyle Magazine’s November issue. A few weeks ago I was contacted by an editor of the magazine asking me if I’d like to participate in an article that would feature food bloggers in the Acadiana area. I was more than ecstatic to take part, and totally shocked that my not even a year old blog got noticed by someone other than my family and friends. If you’d like to read my mini-profile in Acadiana Lifestyle Magazine, please click here.

IMG_2825

DSC_4921A special thank you to my co-worker Mike for taking last minute head shots of me for the article. It’s definitely a perk having an in-house photographer just a few doors down the hall at work. And thanks to all of my readers for taking the time to read my post each week.

I hope all of you were able to enjoy nice weather over this past weekend. I was actually able to leave the office a bit early on Friday. I headed down to Morgan City, and celebrated Halloween at Amanda and Brandon’s house.

IMG_2815We enjoyed hot dogs and other sweet and salty treats. The cutest trick-or-treaters that I saw that night were two children dressed up as hammer head sharks. I thought their choice of costume was super original.

This week at work is going to be pretty insane since I’ll be promoting our 3rd Annual Chili Cook-off which benefits United Way of Acadiana. This past Sunday evening I sat down in a radio interview with Tiffany Decou of the Lafayette Food Junkie blog.

10388183_10152423177431603_564650010374685927_nThis was my first time ever doing a radio promotion, and I have to admit that I felt way more at ease since I did not have a camera on me. Tiffany also made the experience easy-going and fun by engaging in great conversation with me. I’m hoping that I can have her participate as a judge in next year’s cook-off.

Yesterday morning I crawled out of bed in enough time to make a 6:30 am appearance on KLFY’s Passe Partout. See pictures below.

IMG_2819MeandMargaretUnitedWayI’ll also be promoting at 5 am (YIKES) tomorrow morning on Good Morning Acadiana with KATC, then Thursday afternoon on Meet Your Neighbor with KLFY. We’ll also be doing a live remote on the day of the event with Nash 99.1, and a live feed with KATC that morning. I’m so pleased that we were able to line up so many media opportunities this year. I think the extra efforts will draw even larger crowds to the event. Although my nerves usually get the better of me for these appearances, I honestly love this part of my job. It’s truly an honor to represent such an amazing, charitable company.

Since I’ll be promoting chili all week, I only thought it fair that I share with you guys a chili recipe today. When Brett and I made it home Saturday afternoon this past weekend, we decided to light up the outside Coleman stove so that we could enjoy the nice weather. Below is the recipe that Brett used to make his chili that day. His recipe actually comes from his Uncle Tralles and also calls for deer meat. Since we did not have deer meat in the freezer that day we decided to substitute ground chuck instead.

TAR’s Big Buck Chili

IMG_2801

2-3 pounds of ground deer (or ground chuck)
2 14.5 oz. cans of Hunt’s Diced Green Pepper, Celery, Onion & Tomato
1 8 oz. can of tomato sauce
2 10 oz. cans of Rotel’s Chili & Fixins
1 1/2 packs of Chili Mix
2 15.5 oz. cans Bush’s Chili Magic Chili Starter
1 14.5 oz. can of Trappey’s Black Beans: Olive Oil, Onion & Garlic
1 can Bush’s Best Chili Beans (mild sauce)
1 14.5 oz. can of Dark Seasoned Red Beans
1 cup of chopped Creaole seasoning (Guidry’s)
1 large onion
2 tablespoons of cooking oil
10 oz. of water
1 4 oz. can of mushrooms

Notes: If cooking less than 3 lbs, subtract one can of Chili and Fixins per subtracted pound.

Brown one large onion in two tablespoons of cooking oil until onion Is slightly browned and withered. Add defrosted dear meat (ground chuck) and brown. Mix in one pack of chili mix after deer meat has been browned. Mix in the rest of the ingredients and simmer until beans are tender. Cover pot and stir often. This will take approximately 45 minutes to and hour. For best results, let chili stand for an hour or so. Enjoy!

IMG_2814

If you’d like to try a leaner chili, check out my recipe here.

And before I sign off, I’d like to share a bit of sad news. I caught Poison Ivy. Even though Brett and I used careful precautions during our engagement pictures in Belle River, I still somehow managed to catch it on my left forearm and back right hamstring. It itches so badly, but I thought that it was pretty cool that they started making the calamine lotion in a spray form. It’s so much easier to apply now. Oh the simple things…

IMG_2811If you are a Lafayette resident or are in the area, please try to make the Chili Cook-off this coming Friday from 11 am – 1 pm at Cajun Field. Come out and support a great cause!

2 thoughts on “First Publication and Promoting Chili!

  1. Pingback: ONE YEAR | My Cajun Trinity

  2. Pingback: Meal and Workout Plan – Week Three | My Cajun Trinity

Leave a Reply

