Back on Track

Hey Friends!

Hope your week is moving along nicely. I think I’m right when I say that the weekends just never seem to be long enough. My weekend actually started a bit early since I took the day off on Friday in order to get myself ready for our engagement pictures.

IMG_2752

A huge thank you to Kelsey for doing my hair, and Marcy for doing my makeup. Both of your talents helped me feel absolutely beautiful for this very special day. Love you both!

IMG_2753

At around 3:30 pm on Friday afternoon Brett and I, along with our photographer Mark Eric, headed to Belle River to complete a two hour photo shoot. The weather was absolutely perfect, but we still had to battle quite a few mosquitos. Luckily you cannot smell bug spray through a picture, but poor Brett’s lips were on fire since some pictures were posed with him kissing my forehead, cheek and shoulder. He was an absolute trooper throughout the whole process, and I know that Mark will deliver excellent results since I’ve been a fan of his work for years. I promise to share with you guys as soon as they are done.

The rest of the weekend was spent in Morgan City. We spent the day in Houma with Brett’s Uncle Chris, his cousin Amanda and her husband, Brandon (recap of their wedding here) on Saturday.

IMG_2754

I actually purchased some supplies for our wedding favors that day, but you will have to wait to see the end results until after the wedding (sorry, no spoilers). After sharing dinner together, we headed back to Morgan City and watched the LSU game while the boys tried to work Uncle Chris’ fireplace.

IMG_2755

Although most of us were doubtful whether or not the boys would get the fireplace lit, they finally got it started about an hour after trial and tribulation.

After enjoying lunch at Brett’s Aunt Linda’s house on Sunday, I headed back to Lafayette. I ironed clothes, grocery shopped, and also cleaned both bathrooms in my home. Oh Sunday rituals, how I loath you.

This week started off on a great note since my Monday morning office view was a sunset on a local golf course.

IMG_2756

Yep, that sure beats the view of a computer screen any day. That morning I helped out a fellow co-worker by representing the Young Professionals of LAGCOE (Louisiana Gulf Coast Oil Exposition). I worked the 9th hole by presenting a gift card to each team as they passed through. Whichever player out of their group got closest to the hole was awarded the said gift card. It was a beautiful morning, but I was happy to return to the office since the temperatures started to rise after lunch.

That evening I headed to the gym, and completed the workout below.

All Over the Place Workout
Stairmaster – 10 minutes
2 sets
Bicep Curls – 15 reps
Pulse 3 Lunges – 15 reps (each leg)
Plank 30 seconds, Mountain Climbers 30 seconds
Elliptical – 5 minutes
2 sets
French Press – 15 reps
Deadlift – 15 reps
Bicycle Crunch for one minute
5 minute run
2 sets
25 pushups
Jump squats for one minute
25 sit-ups
Stairmaster – 10 minutes

I felt like I was all over the gym, and I definitely worked up a sweat. It felt awesome to finally get back on track.

When I returned home last night I made a vegetable soup. For some reason I thought I had already shared my recipe for vegetable soup with you guys, but when I searched my blog I couldn’t find the recipe anywhere. In case I never documented it, or you missed it the first time here is the recipe I follow.

IMG_2757

Vegetable Soup

2 tablespoons of olive oil
2 onions
1 cup of celery
2 teaspoons of Italian Seasoning
1 lb. of Stew Meat
3 14.5 ounce cans of chicken broth (low sodium)
1 28 ounce can of diced tomatoes
3 cups of water
1 tablespoon of tomato paste
Salt and Pepper to taste
1 can of corn (no salt added)
1 can of green beans (no salt added)
1 can of butter beans
1 cup of carrots, sliced
3-4 potatoes, chopped
1 cup of cabbage, chopped

Note: I usually try to use all fresh vegetables when they are available. You can also use any type of vegetables you would like. Lastly, this meal is perfect for freezing.

Heat oil in a large stockpot over medium heat. Add onions, celery, and Italian seasoning; season with salt and pepper. Add stew meat. Cook, stirring frequently, until onions are translucent, 5 to 8 minutes. Add broth, tomatoes and their juice, tomato paste, and 3 cups water to pot; bring mixture to a boil. Reduce heat to a simmer, and cook, uncovered, 20 minutes. Add vegetables to pot, and return to a simmer. Cook, uncovered, until vegetables are tender, 20 to 25 minutes. Season with salt and pepper, as desired. Let cool before serving or storing.

As I was finishing my soup, my Dad showed up to my house for another week stay with me. We ate two bowls of soup while entertaining ourselves with The Voice. So far my favorites are Taylor Phelan who was stolen from Pharrell’s team by Adam last night; and Luke Wade and DaNica Shirey from Pharrell’s team. I guess I’m a little obsessed with Pharrell’s taste. Who are your favorites?

I cannot tell you guys how excited I am to get back to somewhat of a normal week. I took a Circuit Training class tonight, and have plans to hit the gym Wednesday and Thursday as well. Dad and I ate leftovers of vegetable soup tonight, and I plan to cook pulled pork and sweet potatoes tomorrow. Nothing feels better than getting back in the zone!

Hope you all enjoy the rest of your evening!

One thought on “Back on Track

Leave a Reply

