Life Lately

Hey Guys! Hope everyone had a fantastic weekend.

Before I jump into my usual weekend recap I wanted to discuss what has been going on in my life lately. I’d be lying if I told you it was anything close to normal since my workouts have been minimal, I haven’t been eating as I should and my anxiety levels went up and down for a little over a week. I think I’m finally back to somewhat of a normal lifestyle, but I wanted to let you guys know that sometimes life gets a bit bumpy…for all of us. And that is ok.

Unfortunately, a heartbreaking event occurred just a few weeks ago to my soon-to-be immediate family. Brett alongside his family laid to rest his Father who had been battling cancer for the past few months.

Mr. Mike was a simple man…patient, kind and always enjoyed making people smile.  He raised two amazing young men, dedicated his life to his wife for 40 years and loved his granddaughter Ava more than life itself. It was truly an honor of mine to have known him for six short years, but the memory of him will remain in my heart for a lifetime. 

worldsgreatestdad

I chose not to write about our struggles in the past few months simply out of respect to the family, and I only mentioned the news in today’s post so that future post would make sense. Although Mr. Mike’s illness was sorrowful, I was still able to see the beauty that God graced upon him within his final days. Family came together, prayers were brought up to God and love was embraced completely and fully upon Mr. Mike (especially by his sons and wife). I think I can send a sincere thank you on behalf of the family to everyone who visited, called, texted, Facebook messaged, sent food, sent arrangements, sent cards and offered their help in anyway. Please keep Brett’s family in your thoughts as they heal from Mr. Mike’s passing.

Since Brett has been with his family for the past month or so, this has left me home alone during the week. I started off amazing by eating even healthier than I normally do with Brett.  But the saddening events left my stomach uneasy, and worrying caused me to have crazy anxiety.  I finally placed my troubles in God’s hands then miraculously started to see a more normalized lifestyle.

My workouts are still not exactly where I’d like them to be, but I’ve been keeping up with my walks at work and living as actively as I can. I’m still going to the gym, but due to other conflicts over the past few weeks I’ve only been making a presence there two or three times a week.

I was fortunate to have my Dad stay with me last week, and he was a wonderful guest. He changed my oil in my car for me then washed the inside and outside of my vechicle as well. Every night he volunteered to help me wash the dishes, and even tided up the house for me while I was away at work. He was definitely super Dad last week, and I cherished every single second I got to spend with him. I even got him to eat a bit healthier, and he didn’t complain once. Thanks again Dad!

Last week, my company also participated in a local Gumbo Cook-off to benefit United Way. Sammy Kershaw entertained the crowd that night, so my Dad was more than game to attend the event with me.

gumbocookoff

The picture above is of me with our cooking crew. This year I had the honor of assembling the gumbos, and handing them out to the crowd. Believe it or not, we went through almost the entire pot…which was a crazy amount of gumbo. Although our team did not win, I thought our gumbo was savory with just the right amount of spice. Ces’t Bon!

IMG_2718

When the weekend rolled around, my Dad headed home. Then after work on Friday, I greeted Brett with a giant hug, and we were able to spend a glorious weekend together. Since Brett had not been home in almost two weeks, we decided to take it easy at the house. Brett pan grilled some shrimp for us Friday night, which we paired with a Caesar salad and French bread. It was simple and delicious.

IMG_2719

Then on Saturday night, Brett baked pork chops, and glazed them with a honey, root beer sauce. We served the dish with carrots and asparagus.

IMG_2720

A few of Brett’s friends from work joined us later that night, and we enjoyed a night around the fire in our back yard.

IMG_2705

As far as this week goes, it has been quite busy. I took the day off Monday to shop for outfits for my engagement pictures this Friday in Baton Rouge. I know, so last minute. I really hate shopping for clothes, and wish that I was rich enough to hire a personal stylist.

IMG_2707

I had lunch at Chipotle, then headed to Perkins Rowe to get my shop on. I left BR with one dress and a pair of earrings…not the best shopping day.

IMG_2721

I actually ordered three dresses online last week, but I wanted to be sure I had something in case none of the dresses I ordered worked out. I’m so glad that I bought a dress on Monday since I found out today that my dresses won’t be delivered to me in the right amount of time. In the end, I know it won’t really matter what either Brett or I wear as long as we look happy in the pictures. Which I’m sure will not be a problem since we’ll be together!

Enjoy the rest of your night, and again, please keep Brett and his family in your thoughts and prayers.

6 thoughts on “Life Lately

  1. Lisa

    My heartfelt sympathy goes out to you, Brett and his family. So glad you and Paul had some bonding time!! Sure he enjoyed it as much as you did.

    Like

    Reply
  2. Jamie Noto

    oh I am so sorry to hear of the loss of Brett’s dad…I lost my daddy 9yrs ago and I know the feeling 😦 I pray you all find comfort in our Lord Jesus Christ.

    Like

    Reply
  3. Pingback: ONE YEAR | My Cajun Trinity

  4. Pingback: Christmas 2014 – Part II | My Cajun Trinity

Leave a Reply

