Happy Fall!

Today marks the first day of Autumn, and it definitely showed up today in Lafayette, LA! This was surprising to me since we normally don’t get a true “cool front” until October. I sure hope it last for a couple of days since it feels amazing outside. It was truly disappointing to be trapped indoors all day, but at least I was able to enjoy the beautiful weather during my walk breaks. I also made sure to ride home with the windows down on my way home from the gym this afternoon.

I pulled out my ceramic pumpkins at the beginning of September in hopes to start decorating for the Fall season, but wedding priorities seemed to keep getting in the way. Today I finally pulled the rest of my décor out, and began the brainstorming process. My main goal every year is to change up the placement and styling as each season comes and goes.

Fall Décor 2012:

picture1

Runner: The Royal Standard ι Lantern: Hobby Lobby (two years ago) ι Candlesticks: World Market (two years ago) ι White Ceramic Pumpkins: Hobby Lobby (two years ago, but I think they still sell them) ιGold Flower Votive: Z Gallerie (3-4 years ago) ι Small Gold Dish: Passed down from my Mom.

My Mom also gave me the mason jar, and I filled it with trimmed wheat florals from Hobby Lobby.

picture2

Glass Lantern: Flea Market ι Stone Owl: Kirklands (two years ago, and picked out by Brett) ι Real White Pumpkin: The Fresh Market ι Small Fake Pumpkins: Hobby Lobby ι Painting: Gift from Brett ι Glass Apothecary Jar: World Market (filled with pine cones that fell from a few trees in Morgan City).

Fall Décor 2013:

picture3

Runner: The Paul Michael Company ι Candle Holders: The Dollar Store (Brett bought them for me, and I love them) ι White Ceramic Pumpkins: Same from previous year ι Hurricane Vase: Target ι Trimmed Florals: Hobby Lobby ι Burlap Ribbon: The Paul Michael Company

Tip: Hobby Lobby sells there florals half off every other week!

picture4

Pitcher: Lowes (gift from Brett) ι Burlap Ribbon: The Paul Michael Company
ι Trimmed Wheat Florals: Hobby Lobby

I promise to share photos with you guys as soon as I wrap up the decorating around our house. I have a few ideas in my head already, so I’m hoping that post will be sooner than later.

Weekend Recap

Just a quick update from this past weekend.

I quickly whipped up a Peppered Steak for dinner Friday afternoon. I’ve acquired this recipe from my old roommate, Megan. She and I lived with each other for almost five years before I made my move to Lafayette.

image1

Peppered Steak was one of my favorite meals that she cooked for me over those years, and I’m so happy to have the recipe in my possession…although it’s always better when it’s prepared by Megan. And good news, Megan gave me permission to share the recipe with you guys!

Peppered Steak

1 pound of sirloin stew meat
1 onion
1 bell pepper (any color)
1-2 cups of baby carrots
1 teaspoon of ground ginger
1/2 cup of low sodium soy sauce
2 cloves of garlic
1 tablespoon of corn starch
Water

Brown the meat, onion, pepper and carrots. Once browned, add the soy sauce, ginger and garlic. When meat and vegetables are cooked, thicken with corn starch and water. Season to taste and serve over brown rice.

After dinner, Brett and I took it easy on the couch. I think exhaustion took over both of our bodies, and we both hit the sack quite early that night.

Saturday was spent running a few errands around town. Later that evening, Brett and I headed to Church Point, LA for one of his co-worker’s engagement party.

picture6

The party was Caribbean themed, and also included a homemade photo booth. What do you think about my coconut bra? I know, we look a bit silly, but we sure got a few laughs going through all the neat props.

We left the party earlier than we wanted since we had to wake up the next morning for an 8 am Theology class…which was part of our marriage prep. Since the class ended earlier than I expected, I was able to do some of my Sunday rituals before heading to mass that evening. We ended the weekend with grilled pork chops and a movie.

I hope you guys enjoy the rest of the week. If you are experiencing a cool front, I hope you can get outside and enjoy the weather as well!

Do you decorate your house throughout the year? What are your go-to décor stores?

My go-to stores would definitely be Hobby Lobby, World Market, The Paul Michael Company, and Target!

2 thoughts on “Happy Fall!

  1. Pingback: Autumn Accents | My Cajun Trinity

  2. Pingback: Roasted Chicken and Veggies | My Cajun Trinity

Leave a Reply

