A Relaxed Labor Day Weekend

Wow, I cannot believe it’s already September! I’m not sure about you, but I’m definitely ready to feel cooler days this month. I hope everyone had a fun, extended Labor Day weekend!

My employer allowed everyone to start their holiday weekend a bit early, so I was able to clock out at 3 pm Friday afternoon. Since Brett had the day off as well, we decided to make a trip to World Market since the store just filled up with lots of new items. After our fun little shopping trip, Brett suggested that we run to the grocery store to spontaneously purchase ingredients to make dinner. Once we got home we placed our fold-out outdoor table in the kitchen, poured our preferred drinky drinks, then began preparing our meal together.

To be honest, Brett did more of the cooking, and I did more of the cleaning. I will never complain with that combo since I absolutely approve of Brett’s cooking. If I wouldn’t care about my health so much, I’d definitely let him take charge in the kitchen more than often.

That night we indulged in the following courses:

A pesto and olive oil sauce with French baguette slices for dipping.

Garlic shrimp, chia seeds and an Asian inspired ranch dressing on top of a bed of spinach and chopped romaine.

Garlic shrimp with a green onion, mushroom and spinach cream sauce on top of wheat spaghetti.

Brett also prepared pork ribs and roasted potatoes; however, we were entirely stuffed after eating the three courses above. The other entrees went undocumented.

After eating, we spent an hour and a half Facetiming with Brett’s Uncle Chris, then an additional 15 minute Facetime session with my parents. I absolutely loved this sort of evening with Brett since it was unplanned and simple. It’s not that I don’t love going out for a nice dinner and dressing fancy…it’s that I appreciate that we can enjoy each other the exact same way (if not more) in the comfort of our little kitchen.

The rest of my extended weekend was spent at home while Brett was away at work. The first item that I scratched off my to-do list was booking our honeymoon. I cannot tell you guys how much weight was lifted off my shoulders after booking this trip. Even though I booked way ahead of time, I was worried that the activities we were interested in would no longer be available to us since they tend to book up quickly. Luckily, after talking to a representative, I was able to include all of the activities we were hoping to discover during our travels. Brett and I decided to book an all-inclusive Sandals honeymoon to St. Lucia. I cannot tell you guys how excited we both are about a full week away from work, house responsibilities, and life in general.

I was also able to clean the entire house over my three day weekend; however, since I had an extra day to fulfill my tasks I decided to take a relaxed approach. There were so many good movies on TV this weekend, so I’d sit on the couch while the movie was playing then get up during commercials and do a bit of cleaning. It took me longer than usual, but since I didn’t have much else planned for the weekend I didn’t mind the slow pace.

Once Brett made it home from work Saturday evening, he and I headed to our neighbor’s house to watch the first LSU football game of the season. I actually posted the picture below via Facebook on Friday with the tagline, “Tomorrow, it’s GEAUX time”.

tiger1

I absolutely love Tiger football, especially since I’m an alumni! Our Tigers started out a bit rough earlier in the game Saturday night, but finally came around towards the end. I’m excited to support them throughout the rest of the season. Thanks again to Camille and Dave for having us over, and for filling our bellies with delicious fried fish!

On Sunday, I attended mass in the morning then headed to the gym and did a 45 minute cardio session. I did 15 minutes on the stairmaster, then the cardio breakdown below, then finally 15 minutes on the elliptical.

Cardio Breakdown
Monday was spent finishing up my chores around the house, vacumming my car, and cooking a clean dish for dinner. That night I made Korean Boneless Beef Ribs.

image

Korean Boneless Beef Ribs

1 pound of boneless beef ribs
Kosher salt
Freshly ground pepper
1 medium Asian pear, peeled, cored, and chopped coarsely
1/2 cup coconut aminos
6 garlic cloves, peeled and roughly chopped
1 bunch of green onion, roughly chopped
1 hunk of ginger, about the size of your thumb, cut into two pieces
2 teaspoons of fish sauce
1 tablespoon coconut vinegar
1 cup of chicken broth

Preheat your oven to broil on low and place your oven rack six inches from the broiler. Line a pan with aluminum foil, then place your ribs in pan and salt and pepper both sides. Place pan of ribs in oven. Broil for five minute, then flip ribs over and broil another 5 minutes. While your ribs are broiling place the pear, coconut aminos, garlic, ginger, coconut vinegar, green onions and fish sauce in a food processor. Blend until smooth. Once ribs are done in the broiler place them in slow cooker. Place sauce on top of ribs, then add one cup of chicken broth to the slow cooker as well. Cook on low for three to four hours.

I served the ribs with a side of roasted asparagus and wheat rolls. If you’re following the paleo diet, simple omit the rolls.

This week is flashing before my eyes, and I cannot believe tomorrow is already Thursday. Oh well, one day closer to the weekend!

What was the highlight of your Labor Day weekend?

3 thoughts on “A Relaxed Labor Day Weekend

      1. Ema Jones

        Garlic shrimp salad can be wrapped up with mayo in tortillas, which would serve as a great brunch. Happy Cooking ❤ ❤

        Like

Leave a Reply

