Independance Day Weekend Recap

Hey Guys!

Hope you guys had a wonderful 4th of July celebration this past weekend.

Brett had the day off Friday, so he and I spent the day on the water with his co-worker Toby and Toby’s friend, Blair. We headed out to Lake Arthur early Friday morning for a bit of boat riding, tubing, wake-boarding and loads of fun in the sun.

image6

We sighted several alligators while boat riding, which did not boost my confidence level about jumping into the water what-so-ever. I think the gator pictured below was the largest one I’ve encountered ever in my entire life.

image5

Although I was a bit of a chicken, I did indeed jump into the water several times that day. I had an absolute blast tubing with Blair.

tubing

I was also highly impressed with Brett’s wake-boarding skills since he hadn’t touched a board in over six years. Good job, B!

wake-boarding

And we ended our trip with a few jumps off of the swing rope.

image3

I love this shot of B!

We headed back to Lafayette about mid-afternoon to hang out by the pool for the remainder of the afternoon. Then once dinner-time rolled around, we headed to Toby’s apartment for a bit of BBQ and fireworks.

image4photo7
Thanks again to Toby for inviting us on such a fun-filled day.

The rest of my weekend consisted of some serious house cleaning. Since I’ve been out of town for the past three weekends, my bi-weekly chores have been abandoned. So, I spent Saturday and Sunday cleaning and organizing, and now all is set right in the world again…phew!

This past weekend eats and drinks weren’t the healthiest to say the least, so on Sunday I was more than ready to plan some healthy, clean meals for the week ahead. On the grocery list were ingredients for the two recipes below.

I enjoyed this Spicy Tuna Salad twice last week, and I’m already craving another serving of it again. I’m a huge fan of tuna, so this meal was right up my alley!

Spicy Tuna Salad

image2

1 can of tuna (oil-based)
10 olives (black or green)
1 jalapeno (seedless if you’d rather it not be so spicy)
Splash of Olive Oil
1/2  teaspoon of Red Pepper Flakes
Salt to taste
Half of an avocado

Mix all the ingredients then place on a bed of greens (I mixed spinach and romaine). Lastly, place your avocado on top of the salad and enjoy.

After work yesterday, I headed to the gym for a dip in the pool. I completed 1800 meters, which meant that I was pretty much starving afterwards. As soon as I made it home, I got busy in the kitchen. I decided to take a spin on my Mom’s Hamburger Steaks. Although I absolutely love my Mom’s recipe, it’s not the cleanest of recipes due to the packet of gravy needed. This past Sunday I did a search for paleo recipes on Pinterest and was able to find a similar recipe, except it called for a homemade gravy.

Hamburger Steak w/ Clean Gravy

image

For the steaks:
1.5-2 lbs ground beef

1 egg
2 garlic cloves, minced
½ yellow onion, minced
1 teaspoon garlic powder
1 teaspoon onion powder
1 teaspoon sea salt
1 teaspoon pepper
1 teaspoon dried thyme

For the  gravy:

2 tablespoons fat of choice
¾ cup beef broth
3 oz. of almond milk
½ yellow onion, minced
1 garlic clove, minced
1 package mushrooms
1 teaspoon sea salt
1 teaspoon pepper
½ teaspoon garlic powder
½ teaspoon onion powder

Add all the ingredients for the steaks into a large mixing bowl and use your hands to combine. Form meat into patties. Place on grill for 3-5 minutes on each side. While the patties are on the grill, make your gravy. Let the onions cook until they become translucent. Add the rest of your ingredients, including the almond milk, broth, mushrooms and seasonings. Mix together and let cook down for five minutes. Turn the heat down and cover, stirring occasionally. Once the burgers and gravy are done, top the burgers with the gravy and enjoy!

What did you do this past weekend to celebrate Independence Day?
What sort of diets have you tried in the past? Did they work?

3 thoughts on “Independance Day Weekend Recap

  1. Pingback: Henderson Weekend | My Cajun Trinity

  2. Pingback: Rotisserie Chicken and Toby’s Birthday | My Cajun Trinity

  3. Pingback: Workout Box – TRX Training | My Cajun Trinity

Leave a Reply

