Two Clean Recipes

Hey Guys!

If you read my post the other day about the Worst Foods to Avoid, you’ll already know that I’m constantly trying to improve Brett and I’s meals at home. My latest goals have been aimed to cook meals that are clean.

So, what exactly is “clean”?

Now, as you know, I’m not an expert, but clean eating to me is throwing out the processed foods, and trying my best to buy local. Another habit I’ve been practicing is reading the labels on every item before it gets tossed into the basket at the grocery store. If I can’t understand the ingredients, it’s staying on the shelf.

Of course I’m not perfect, but I’m definitely making a better effort when brainstorming meals for our household.

Last week I decided to dive head first into two extremely clean recipes.

First up was a Watermelon Freeze. Brett had purchased a watermelon the other day and only half of the melon was consumed. The other half of the melon was sitting in our refrigerator for almost an entire week. In order to save the melon, I searched the web for a clean recipe that included my ingredient of choice.

Watermelon Freeze

4 cups watermelon, seeded and cubed
2 cups cantaloupe, cubed
3 fresh mint leaves (or 1 mint tea bag)
1 cup water
Juice of 1 lemon
Paper muffin liners or parchment paper

Puree watermelon and cantaloupe in a food processor until smooth. Place in a medium saucepan over medium heat and bring to a simmer.  Cook for 15 minutes. Meanwhile, in another pan, steep the mint leaves or tea bag in 1 cup boiling water for about 3 minutes. Strain mint leaves, and add the infused water to the cooked melons. Turn off heat and stir in lemon juice. Line a muffin pan with paper liners (may instead use small paper cups or ice cube trays). Pour the melon puree into each liner and freeze. When beginning to firm up, insert flat wooden sticks into the center of each. Freeze until completely hard or the papers will not peel easily away. Remove papers before serving.

image18

I didn’t have wooden sticks, so I simple just froze them in the muffin liners. It was a bit messy when I tried one last Thursday morning, so I’d definitely recommend using the wooden sticks. These little frozen treats are so much healthier than popsicles…and they’re perfect for a hot, humid, Louisiana Summer afternoon. I also used a few of these today in a smoothie I prepared for my afternoon snack.

The next clean meal I prepared last week was Seared Scallops.

Seared Scallops

scallops

12 medium sea scallops
2 Tbs olive oil
1 small shallot, minced (or use 1/4 cup minced yellow onion)
Juice of 1 lemon (about 2 TB.)
Salt and fresh ground black pepper

Heat olive oil in a large skillet over medium heat. When the pan is hot, add shallots. Saute, stirring frequently for 1 to 2 minutes, or until lightly browned. Add the lemon juice to the pan to deglaze, and cook until evaporated. Turn your heat up to medium/high heat. Once the pan is hot enough, add scallops to the pan, leaving at least 1/2″ of space between each scallop. Cook for 40 seconds, then turn, cooking another 40 seconds on the other side until deeply browned.  Remove from pan immediately and season with salt and freshly ground black pepper.

I served my scallops with roasted asparagus and a tomato and cucumber salad. The tomatoes and cucumbers were brought to me last Monday straight from my Daddy’s garden. I really enjoyed this meal since it was thrown together in about 20 minutes.

If you’d like to learn even more about clean eating habits, please check out my friend Jada’s blog, Louisiana Fresh Living. I’ve been following her blog for about three weeks now, and I can’t say enough great things about her excellent tips, recipes and knowledge on clean eating. Great job, Jada!

I actually just got back from the grocery store, and I’m happy to report that I stayed on the perimeter of the store ALMOST my entire visit!

I hope you guys had a wonderful weekend. I’m hoping to fill you guys in on a recap of my weekend tomorrow…so stay tuned.

Leave a Reply

