A Salad and a Steam Room

Yesterday’s lunch was both healthy and refreshing, so I just had to do a post in order to share it with you guys. I rarely eat kale alone since I’m not a huge fan of the leafy vegetable; however, I can tolerate it when it’s mixed within other yummy favorites such as boiled eggs and avocados. See recipe below:

kaleandspinach2

Kale and Spinach Salad

Within the mix:
1 cup of chopped kale
1 cup of chopped spinach
1 boiled egg
1 avocado
1 tablespoon chopped red onion
1 tablespoon chopped carrot
1 tablespoon parmesan cheese

The dressing:
1 tablespoon apple cider vinegar
1 teaspoon of creole mustard
2 1/2 tablespoons of olive oil
1/4 teaspoon of honey

Chop up all of your greens and vegetables while boiling one egg, then toss everything into a large bowl. To make dressing, whisk together cider vinegar and mustard first into a smaller bowl, then slowly mix in the olive oil. Instead of measuring the honey, a three second drizzle into the small, dressing bowl should suffice. Continue whisking until everything has combined, then toss salad in dressing. If you’re serving this meal for a larger crowd, you can double or even triple the recipe. Enjoy!

Workout
Due to an accidental fall over the weekend, my workouts this week have been refrained to the pool. I’m not complaining one bit, since I’ve been welcoming my swim workouts as much as possible lately. Louisiana humid, summer days have arrived, and a nice dip in the pool at the end of the day is always a nice treat. Yesterday’s swim is below:

Warm Up
2 x 100m Backstroke Swim (Kick every 4th 25m), rest 0:20 / 100m

Build Up (repeat 2 times)
1 x 50m Streamline Kicking, rest 0:20 / 50m
Freestyle kick while using a foam kickboard.
1 x 50m Freestyle Push & Glide, rest 0:20 / 50m
Freestyle swim, pausing at the end of every stroke with arms out-stretched, one held out front, the other held loosely against the body.

Core (repeat 5 times)
4 x 50m Freestyle Swim, rest 0:15 / 50m
Rest 0:30 seconds

Warm Down (repeat 2 times)
1 x 50m Backstroke Easy, rest 0:15 / 50m
1 x 50m Breaststroke Easy, rest 0:15 / 50m

Although yesterday’s workout was a bit repetitive, I pushed through by thinking about my post workout steam bath. I overheard a conversation in the locker room a few days ago that the steam room is great for your skin, so ever since then I’ve been enjoying my gym’s steam room after my workout completion. I suffer with dry skin, so I figured I’d give the ole steam room a try this week. I also googled “benefits of a steam room” and found a very informative article at livestrong.com. Looks like the steam room is full of therapeutic purposes, and I can’t believe I’ve been left in the dark about them all these years.

steam-room-virgin-active-gym-

A few guidelines to follow if you plan on using a steam room in the near future:

  • If you are using the steam room after a workout, make sure to cool down for at least 5-10 minutes.
  • If you are using a public steam room, make sure to shower before and after each steam bath.
  • Make sure that you are well hydrated before entering a steam room.
  • How long you stay in the steam room is something of a personal matter. If you begin to feel uncomfortable, you should leave immediately. Limit yourself to only a few minutes during your first visit. Never exceed 20 to 30 minutes at a time.
  • Different websites suggest different limitations of how often a week a healthy person can take a steam bath. Some say no more than three times a week for 20 minutes at a time, others suggest as often as he feels comfortable.
  • And as always, if you have health problems, please consult your doctor before using a steam room.

House Updates

And lastly, I wanted to give you guys an update on our house projects. Brett was busy the past two days priming and painting his shed to match the exterior of our house. I must say, he did a fantastic job…as always! See his progress below.

shed1

shed2

Have you ever enjoyed a steam or sauna room in the past? How was your experience?
Do you have any fantastic kale recipes? If so, please comment or email them to me, I’d love to give it a try in the future.

Leave a Reply

