House Updates

Happy Hump Day! Woo hoo, halfway through the week!

Just wanted to do a quick post to show you guys the few updates we’ve made to the house recently. As those of you who frequently read MCT already know, my Dad and Brett just recently painted the entire exterior of our house. A few weeks ago, Brett purchased new exterior light fixtures in order to enhance the exterior of our house even more.

image3

I must say that they look so much better than the gothic style light fixtures that we lived with for far too long. See the difference below.

IMG_1598

 

image-59

And a close up view.

image-58

Brett was also busy last week finishing off some of our front courtyard landscaping. See below.

image-57

image-60

Although we’ve done some major work outside, there is always a want from both of us to do more in order to improve our house. We’ve  Brett and my Dad have got a pretty big to-do list left to tackle, but I must applaud them again for their fantastic work thus far.

I hit up the gym this afternoon after work for a quick swim. My legs were completely sore from yesterday’s Circuit Training class, so I took it easy in the pool today and only completed 1600 meters. When I returned home, I whipped up a Turkey Meatball Spaghetti. I used my Mom’s base recipe for her Ground Meat Spaghetti, but used homemade Turkey Meatballs instead of the called for ground meat in her recipe. The recipe I used tonight is below.

Turkey Meatball Spaghetti

To make sauce:
Brown two onions. Then add two small cans of tomato sauce and a half of a can of tomato paste. Add two cloves of garlic, a tablespoon of green onion, a tablespoon of parsley and a teaspoon of oregano. Cook on low to medium heat.

To make meatballs:
Combine one pound of ground turkey, one egg, one slice of whole wheat bread, two cloves of garlic, one tablespoon of green onion, one tablespoon of parsley, salt and pepper. Form meat into small golf sized balls.

Place the meatballs into the sauce mixture and let cook. Once the meat has cooked a bit, stir around in sauce and continue to cook until everything is cooked through. Serve on top of whole wheat pasta.

image-56

I also served roasted Asparagus as a side to our spaghetti. To roast the Asparagus I preheated my oven to 425 degrees, snapped my asparagus spears, then coated in light olive oil, garlic salt and pepper. I let them roast for around 20 minutes in the oven.

What sort of summer projects have you guys been doing around your house? 

 

2 thoughts on “House Updates

  1. Pingback: ONE YEAR | My Cajun Trinity

  2. Pingback: Our Starter Story – A Tour of Our Home | My Cajun Trinity

Leave a Reply

