My 29th Birthday

Hey Guys!

First I wanted to share a picture of Brett and I during our Memorial Day celebration which was spent lounging around the pool pretty much all day at one of Brett’s coworker’s apartment complexes.

image

Thanks again Toby for the invite and for grilling us a great dinner that night.

As you can see from the blog post title, yesterday I celebrated my 29th birthday. I always loved that my birthday was at the end of May since it often fell on the same day as the last day of school, and also sometimes fell on the same weekend as the extended Memorial Day weekend. My birthday celebration is almost always celebrated with some sort of fun in the sun activity since the weather in South Louisiana is starting to heat up during this time of year. This year we are celebrating just as we did last year with a trip to Bay St. Louis. We are leaving tomorrow, and are extremely excited to enjoy some relaxation with some of our best friends.

Although we had some horrible weather come through Lafayette yesterday, I did not let the weather conditions rain on my parade. The weather cleared up around lunchtime, so my bosses took me out to Poor Boy’s Riverside Inn for lunch. Unfortunately, I was not thinking like a blogger and took zero pictures. We shared alligator sausage bites as an appetizer, and also got complimentary potato soups as a starter. My lunch entrée of choice was their very famous “House Salad”, which was a salad topped with boiled shrimp, crawfish and crab. We ended the meal with sweet potato beignets. Everything was on point, so I’d definitely recommend this restaurant to anyone travelling through the Lafayette area.

After work, I headed out to the gym. I normally give myself a break from the gym for my birthday, but Brett was at work until 7:30 pm so I decided to take a dip in the pool. See the workout I completed below.

Swim Workout

Warm Up
4 x 50m Freestyle (even pace). rest 0:20 after each 50m

Build Up
2 x 100m Freestyle Push & Glide, rest 0:30 after each 100m

Core
2 x 100m Breast Stroke, rest 0:20 after each 100m
2 x 100m Back Stroke, rest 0:20 after each 100m
2 x 100m Freestyle, rest 0:20 after each 100m
2 x 100m Back Stroke, rest 0:20 after each 100m
2 x 100m Breast Stroke, rest 0:20 after each 100m

Warm Down
1 x 100 Freestyle, Push & Glide, rest 0:20 afterwards
1 x 100 Freestyle Easy, finished

Push & Glide means pausing at the end of every stroke with arms out-stretched, one held out front, the other held loosely against the body.

If you did the math, you would have realized that I completed 1600m which shows improvement from my first swim of the year. I was able to get in the pool twice over the weekend, and my goal is to swim at least twice a week for the rest of the summer.

When I got home, I patiently waited for Brett’s return from work. He actually didn’t show up until almost 8 pm since he stopped by Fresh Market on the way home to grab me a few goodies for my birthday.

image2

He picked out a few of my favorite things: Hydrangeas, a healthy snack, and WINE! All placed in a cute little monkey bag and of course a sweet card.

image4

He also promised to purchase me some new running shoes since I’ve been complaining lately that my current running shoes have reached their expiration.

That night he grilled us T-bone’s and corn on the cob. I also prepared some mushrooms as an additional side vegetable.

image3

Everything was delicious!

For dessert we had a slice of the cake I picked up on Tuesday from another potential baker for our wedding cake.

image5

Unfortunately the icing was a bit too sweet for our liking, and the fillings just didn’t compare to our initial taste-testing. I actually dropped off the deposit for our cake to the first baker during my lunch break today. I’m also thrilled to report that I’m almost done booking all my larger vendors!

Thanks to everyone that either called, texted, or Facebook messaged/posted me for my birthday yesterday. Although it sort of saddens me that my twenties are nearly gone, I’m blessed to have lived another year with the ones I love.

Have a nice weekend and I’ll be back next week with a recap from our trip and hopefully the DIY post I keep promising you guys!

One thought on “My 29th Birthday

  1. Pingback: ONE YEAR | My Cajun Trinity

Leave a Reply

