Memorial Day Weekend

Happy Memorial Weekend to all of you!

First things first, I’d like to share with you guys a recipe that I tried out for the first time this past Friday night. It’s another recipe given to me by my co-worker Mike. When I saw how many vegetables were incorporated into the dish, I knew I wanted to give it a try soon. It’s called an Italian Skillet, and I have to say it was very tasty.

Italian Skillet

1 lb. chicken tenderloins
2 squares Italian Herb Saute Express® Saute Starter
2 teaspoons olive oil
1/2 yellow onion, diced
3 cloves garlic, minced
12 ounces mushrooms, sliced
2 zucchini, cut in bite-size chunks
2 15-ounce cans fire roasted diced tomatoes
1 teaspoon Italian seasoning
Salt and peper, to taste

In a large saute pan, melt the Saute Express® Saute Starter over medium heat until it begins to bubble. Pat the chicken dry on both sides. Add the chicken and cook for five to seven minutes, or until browned. Turn and cook the other side until browned and the chicken is cooked through.
Remove chicken and set aside on a plate. Add the olive oil to the pan. Over medium heat, saute the onion for three minutes.  Add the mushrooms and continue to saute for five minutes. Add garlic and zucchini. Saute for two minutes. Add the diced tomatoes, Italian seasoning, and salt and pepper to taste.
Transfer chicken back to the pan and spoon some of the sauce and vegetables on top of the chicken. Cook, covered, over the stovetop until the chicken is heated through and the sauce is bubbling. Enjoy!

IMG_1608

Unfortunately, Brett worked all weekend, but since we’ll both be off tomorrow for Memorial Day we have plans to attend a pool party at one of Brett’s co-worker’s house. I cannot tell you guys how excited I am to enjoy a full day of relaxation. I know Brett is equally excited since he’s been working non-stop the past few days. He and my Dad finished up most of the exterior painting to our home this past week on Brett’s days off from the hospital, then Brett worked three 12 hour shifts in a row this weekend. Plus, it’s only fair that he should get the day off since he is indeed a Veteran!

I was able to find a few photos that I took when I first moved into our house, so please enjoy the two before and after pictures below.

patio before and after

flowerbedbefore and after

Both my Dad and Brett worked so extremely hard on the exterior of our house. Over the past few weeks they replaced all of the rotten panels, as well as painted one coat of primer and two coats of paint to the entire house.

I’m so very proud of all of their hard work and dedication to this enormous project. The house looks amazing, and I’m forever thankful for all of the work they’ve put into our home thus far. See more pictures below of their masterpiece.

IMG_1598

IMG_1599

IMG_1592

IMG_1591

IMG_1590

IMG_1587

IMG_1595

IMG_1597

Due to all of the amazing Memorial Day sales, I also did a bit of online shopping this weekend. My email account was flooding with emails informing me of all the great sales so I thought I’d share with you guys a few that sparked my interest.

Aldo – 20% off select styles
Old Navy – Up to 50% off
Pottery Barn – Up to 60% off (And speaking of PB, I heard a rumor that we’re getting a store here in Lafayette. WOO HOO!)
Athleta – Lots of discounts with code SUMMER
Home Depot – $5 off 1 gallon can of paint, and $20 dollars off 5 gallon can of paint

Hope you guys find some great deals!

I’d like to close this post by thanking all of those men and women that have served our country. Tomorrow is a day to remember those that have fallen, but also to honor those that have risked their own lives for our freedom. I commend all of you on your bravery and sacrifice! Thank you and God bless!

6 thoughts on “Memorial Day Weekend

  1. Pingback: House Updates | My Cajun Trinity

  2. Pingback: Orange Doors | My Cajun Trinity

  3. Pingback: Our Starter Story – A Tour of Our Home | My Cajun Trinity

  4. Pingback: Rotisserie Chicken and Toby’s Birthday | My Cajun Trinity

  5. Pingback: Post Wedding and Memorial Day | My Cajun Trinity

Leave a Reply

