My Bridesmaid Proposal!

Good Evening Friends!

I cannot tell you guys how excited I am to finally share this post with all of you. Remember when I mentioned that the wedding crafting had begun about a month ago? Well, today I will finally reveal my very first DIY wedding project on the blog.

I know many of you might think that I put a little too much thought into my bridesmaid proposal. But to be honest, I’ve been looking forward to wedding planning for quite some time so I’m really trying to make sure that much thought goes into every single detail. Plus, my bridesmaids are truly amazing and definitely deserve the best!

Of course I got most of the box proposal idea from Pinterest, but I also added my own personal touches to the box as well.

Below you will see the outside of the box. I used ribbon from Hobby Lobby to make a simple bow. I also bought two floral branches from Pier One for added décor. I simply trimmed the branches and placed the pieces into the knot that made the bow. I bought the tags from Hobby Lobby as well, and printed “Will you…” on labels to place on the tags.

image

Choosing my bridesmaids was super easy since I knew who I’d be asking for a while now. Below are the pictures that I used in each of their boxes and a short description of our friendship.

Tara

I met Tara when I was in kindergarden, and actually had my first sleepover ever at her house. I can remember writing plays with her then performing them for our parents. Tara and I also played basketball and danced together throughout our elementary years.  She and I share an intense love for the movie series Anne of Green Gables, and still get together until this day to watch them. After high-school, Tara and I went our separate ways to college, but our friendship never died. Even though both of our lives are extremely busy, we try our best to visit with one another when we can. Tara is the type of friend that no matter how long we’ve been apart, our friendship picks up right where it left off. I’m so happy that Tara agreed to be part of my wedding since our friendship means so much to me. Not many people can say that they’ve been friends for twenty-three years.

TaraWedding1

Grace

I can still recall the very first day I met Grace. As I entered the school bus my very first day of junior high, I chose to sit in the same seat as her. Little did I know, I’d be her Maid of Honor a few years down the road. I consider Grace my permanent tutor in life. She has never hesitated to help me out with school work and was even proof reading my essays until my last semester of college. She encouraged me to start this blog and even offered to proof read each blog post if I didn’t feel confident with my grammar. Grace also lived fairly close to me growing up, so during the summers of junior high and high-school, I literally spent almost every single day at her house. I consider Grace one of the smartest people I know, and I trust her completely with my life. It was an honor to stand by her side for her wedding a few years ago, and I’m thrilled that she’ll be a part of Brett and I’s big day.

GraceWedding1

Amy

I met Amy in college through my best friend Kristin. She and I hit it off so well, and soon enough, our small group of friends was getting together every Thursday for 80’s night at the Spanish Moon in Baton Rouge. Gosh, I had so much fun with this girl dancing our booty’s off and enjoying the college life. Although those times remain great memories, Amy and I’s friendship has grown past college. I was there the day that her husband proposed to her, and also witnessed each of them promise to love one another for the rest of their lives. I’ve also watched Amy bring two beautiful children into this world, and I admire her talent of balancing work and family life. She’s an inspiration for me, and I could not be happier that she agreed to be a part of our bridal party.

AmyWedding1

Kristin

And last, but not least, Kristin. I also met Kristin in kindergarten, and pretty much was stuck to her side until this present day. So many sleepovers and swim parties were spent at her house growing up. We shared an intense love for Saturday Night Live, and even performed skits for our friends every once in a while that we copied from the show. We especially loved the cheerleaders, since we were cheerleaders ourselves. The memories with this girl are endless and are still in the making luckily. I became roommates with Kristin my second year of college, and we shared so many countless nights laughing and even sometimes crying together. She’s accepted my faults in life, but at the same time encouraged me to be better. When I told her the date of her wedding conflicted with my trip to London, she quickly encouraged me to continue with my plans. Not witnessing her wedding was one of the biggest disappointments of my life, but the trip proved to be a life-changing experience. I came back stronger, and finally made some necessary changes. For that, Kristin was forever grateful. I’ve also watched Kristin bring two beautiful girls into the world, and I’m so fortunate that I get to watch both of them grow since we now both live in the same city once again. Kristin is the sister I never had, and I am so very happy that she agreed to be my Matron of Honor.

oldcnk

So, I was able to get all of my girls together for lunch this past Saturday in New Orleans. My only request was that we eat somewhere not too fancy, yet cute. Grace made a great executive decision to dine at Wayfare. I trusted her choice completely since she lives in New Orleans and has great taste when it comes to food.

I immediately gave all of my girls their boxes before ordering drinks because I couldn’t take the anticipation any longer.

3

4

They all opened their boxes on the count of three, and below is what lied beneath each of their covers.

9

A card with a picture at their wedding, which also had a poem on the back asking them to serve In my wedding (see below); another card with bridesmaid dress ideas; a tag with ribbons tied around it to symbolize the theme colors of our wedding with the date below; and a “just in case” box.

2

I included a “just in case” box for my bridesmaids to have in case of an emergency during the day of the wedding. Inside the “just in case” box was tampons, makeup remover pads, lotion, cotton swabs, cotton pads, rubberbands, floss picks and mints.

8

Everyone accepted my bridesmaid proposal and also seemed to enjoy my crafty little project.

The waitress was sweet enough to let us all enjoy this special moment with each other before asking for our drink orders. Once we were done, I ordered myself a Cucumber Cooler. This drink was super refreshing, and if I would not have had to drive Kristin and I back to Lafayette that day, I sure would have ordered a few more.

7

I opted for the BLT as my main lunch dish. I especially loved this sandwich since the lettuce was tossed in a vinaigrette dressing.

6

Since my lunch was light, I had no trouble squeezing in the dessert below into my belly afterward. We actually hoped into my car and drove to Magazine Street to enjoy dessert at Sucre. As we were walking into the sweet shop, my friends noticed Arnold Schwarzenegger sitting at a table near the front of the store. Since I was busy running my mouth to Amy, we were totally ignorant to the whole situation. So, unfortunately, we missed out on seeing a major celebrity (although we both heard his distinct accent from afar).

5

After dessert, we parted ways with Tara and Grace. Kristin and I dropped Amy off at her house on our way out of New Orleans. Before leaving we enjoyed afternoon coffee with her and her family.

So, now I have bridesmaids…YAY! I love all of these girls to pieces, and I’m over-joyed that they’ll be standing by my side as I marry my best friend!

11

12

Our next step is to find dresses! Wish us luck!

 

7 thoughts on “My Bridesmaid Proposal!

  1. Min

    I love this so much! I have also been working on my bridesmaid boxes!!! 🙂 I got some great ideas from you! ❤

    Like

    Reply
  2. Nanette ledet

    Grace showed me everything and I thought it was so sweet. This is a very important event in your life, enjoy every minute of it because you will carry these precious memories forever. You girls have a special relationship never take anything for granted. We are given only one life, live it to the fullest.

    Like

    Reply
  3. Jamie Noto

    What a wonderful way to ask your closest and most treasured friends to share in your special day! I think it’s wonderful! Enjoy your weekend!

    Like

    Reply
  4. Pingback: ONE YEAR | My Cajun Trinity

  5. Pingback: Brett’s Groomsmen and Usher Proposal | My Cajun Trinity

  6. incredible gtmax charger vehicle

    Hello there! I could have sworn I’ve been to this website
    before but after reading through some of the post I realized it’s new to
    me. Anyhow, I’m definitely delighted I found it and I’ll be book-marking and checking back frequently!

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

