I’m back…and Happy Mother’s Day!

Hey Guys, I’m back!

As many of you know, I’ve been away on business this past week in Houston, TX. My trip had some ups and downs, but overall, let’s just say I’m so happy to be home. My body was so exhausted upon my return, but after a few GREAT night’s rest in my own bed, I’m finally feeling back to normal.

image

View of downtown Houston from my hotel room above.

My trip consisted of the following horrible habits: No exercise what-so-ever (I honestly had no time), dining out every single meal (more to come on this subject later), stress due to last minute fixable errors, lack of sleep and let’s not forget alcoholic drinks every night (hey, the drinks were free…I couldn’t resist free wine).

Wow, I’m really selling this healthy blog right about now, right? Let me just say, I’m ready for long workouts and lots and lots of greens on my plate this coming week.

The up side of the trip was that I was constantly on the move during the event, so therefore I felt sort of active. Being on my feet all day definitely gave me back pain and a new appreciation for Brett and all of his nursing co-workers. I’ll never understand how he can make it through three, 12 hour shifts in a row.

I also tried to choose healthier entrees when dining out. Below you will see the meal I consumed Monday night. I ordered a petite filet which was paired with broccoli and bell-peppers. Lots of vegetables and a healthy protein.

image4

On Wednesday evening I dined out alone since most of my co-workers had left earlier that day. I had heard of Seasons 52 from other healthy blogs in the past, so when I noticed the restaurant near our hotel, I knew I definitely wanted to dine there before my departure. Seasons 52 offers a menu that is seasonally-inspired with the fresh appeal of the farmer’s market. Another great fact is that they make a promise that nothing on their menu is over 475 calories.

I started my meal with a cup of chili. I know most of you probably think that healthier meal options are not the best tasting, but I assure you that this chili was magnificent. I was literally scrapping the bottom of the cup to enjoy every last bite.

image3

I then ended my meal with their BBQ chicken salad. The salad was dressed with roasted corn, sunflower seeds, bell-peppers, tomatoes and blue cheese crumbles. I really wanted to eat every last bite of this salad as well, but my stomach just didn’t have any room left.

image5
If you ever spot a Seasons 52 near your hometown or during vacation, I highly suggest you give this wonderful restaurant a try. Not only is every meal healthy, it’s also mouth-watering delicious!

If you can remember, I mentioned in my last post that Brett and I were going to a crawfish boil hosted by one of the doctors he used to work with back in Morgan City. We had such a wonderful time last Saturday as you can see in the pictures featured below. The crawfish were prepared by Brett’s old co-worker Jay, and I must say, they were boiled perfectly. He boiled eight sacks I believe, and I think I consumed about six pounds myself…which is A LOT.

6

7

8

9

This past weekend was also pretty amazing. I was finally able to catch up on rest, as well as get my house back in order. A special event occurred on Saturday, but I want to dedicate an entire post to that day later this week. So, stay tuned!

Also, while I was away on my trip, my Dad and Brett finished the repairs on the outside of our house and even started painting. See pictures below of their progress. I’ll be sure to post more pictures once they are completely finished.

image-50

image-51

I’d like to end this post by wishing all the mothers out there a Happy Mother’s Day! Unfortunately, I wasn’t able to spend the day with my own mother, but luckily I’ll be seeing her tomorrow.

270181_10100508281382065_5421209_n

Although I was not able to see you today Mom, please know that you were in my heart all day. You are such a strong, giving woman and someone I aspire to be in the near future. You have taken care of our family for so many years (especially Dad), so please know that Dad, James and I love you so much. I’m looking forward to having you by my side throughout the next year as I plan the wedding of my dreams. Thanks for cooking delicious meals when you’re visiting my home, believing in me when I’m doubting myself, and last, but certainly not least, being my best friend. Love, C!

One thought on “I’m back…and Happy Mother’s Day!

Leave a Reply

