Tropical Fruit Bars

Hi Guys!

Woo hoo, it’s Friday! Everyone do the happy, happy, happy dance!

I just wanted to do a real quick post to let you guys know that we have been super busy. Hence the lack of frequent MCT posts. I know I promised you guys a DIY post, and failed to deliver. I’m sorry, but trust me, I have great excuses. Excuse #1 – My parents have been in town since Tuesday assisting us with outside repairs to our home. We’re hoping to have the outside of our home painted within the next month, but lots of repairs were needed to be made to some of the wooden panels that enclose our home. Excuse #2 – Exhaustion after extremely, busy, long days at the office. I’ve been preparing for the Offshore Technology Conference which is actually next week. Preparation for this event has to be the most time consuming project of the year. So, I’ve pretty much been coming home from the gym, eating, showering, then straight to bed.

And I hate to be a bummer, but since I’ll be out of state next week for the conference, I have a feeling the posts will be even less frequent. I’m thinking that once I return from my business trip I will get back on track on many levels.

So, a quick recap of this week. On Monday night, Brett invited an old co-worker of his, Jolie, and her boyfriend, Ian, over for dinner. We had a lovely evening catching up with one another. Jolie and I discussed future wedding plans. I feel like it’s the only thing I talk about these days with other females, and I’m loving it! I’ve waited so long for this day, so I’m soaking up the experience as much as I can.  Brett grilled steaks for everyone and we enjoyed them with a Caesar salad and asparagus.

IMG_1370

IMG_1369

I’m so glad we captured the above picture. Brett and I cherish our home so much, but I’m lacking pictures of us inside of our home. I love this shot, and if you can notice, we knocked down the column that once divided the kitchen and living room.

The next day, after I returned home from the gym, I was greeted to the lovely fellows below.

IMG_1366

My parents had also made it into town for an almost entire week stay. We enjoyed the boiled crabs outside on my patio as the sun went down. I know I’ve mentioned it before, but I love, love, love boiled crabs. Although the crabs were not huge, they were still perfectly seasoned and super juicy.

I actually flew out to Houston this past Wednesday to print out OTC badges for all those attending the conference next week. Our company does charter flights every Wednesday to and from Houston. It’s super convenient for this quick trip I have to take every year.

IMG_1367

Although the flight experience was perfect, my time spent at Reliant Center that morning was not. Of course, I ran into every issue you could possibly think of during the registration process. The good news is that I was able to clear up most of the issues over the phone the past two days, but let’s just say that I’m so completely ready for OTC week to be over. I’m beyond ready to get back to a normal work schedule and life.

Earlier this week I decided to try out a new recipe I came across a few weeks ago. The recipe was for Tropical Fruit Bars. I thought it would be nice to prepare something super healthy that I could snack on throughout the week. See recipe below.

Tropical Fruit Bars

Tropical Fruit Bars

15 dates, pits removed
1 cup walnuts
1 cup sweetened coconut shavings
1/2 cup dried mango, chopped
1/2 cup dried pineapple, chopped

Place all ingredients except for 1/2 cup of the coconut into a large food processor. Pulse ingredients a few times, stirring if the dates begin to clump together. Process until ingredients begin to form a large ball of “dough” (Stir if necessary but continue to process until thick dough forms). Line an 8×8 baking dish with plastic wrap. Sprinkle remaining coconut onto plastic wrap. Press large ball of dough into dish, shaping it into a large square. Cover and chill for an hour or overnight. Cut into squares, flip over and enjoy.

These were perfect little snacks to get me through this crazy, hectic week. I felt like they gave me energy in order to help me conquer each day.

Weekend Plans

This is the first weekend in a while that Brett actually has off Saturday and Sunday. Unfortunately, I have to leave for Houston Sunday afternoon, so it looks like another short weekend spent together again. Even though this bums me out, I’m still keeping my head held high since we have some good looking plans for Saturday. Tomorrow we’re heading over to my best friend’s house for a garage sale. Kristin was nice enough to let Brett and I sell a few items at her subdivision’s bi-annual garage sale. The entire neighborhood gets together and hosts a garage sale twice a year. It’s quite interesting, and you guys would be blown away by the gobs of people that come out for the big event. Then later tomorrow afternoon, Brett and I are heading out to a crawfish boil hosted by a doctor that Brett used to work with when he was a nurse tech in his hometown.

I hope you guys all have nice weekend plans as well. And again, since I’ll be out of town, I probably won’t post again until next weekend! I wish you all a great week ahead, and I’ll be back soon!

One thought on “Tropical Fruit Bars

  1. Pingback: Chocolate Date Bites | My Cajun Trinity

Leave a Reply

