Feeling Under the Weather

Good Evening Friends!

I know I’ve promised you guys a positive platform for my blog in the past, but this week has not been one of my best.

At least our week started off fun and exciting when we headed out to Kaplan, LA for our first taste testing Monday night. This taste test was for a potential reception caterer. We were able to invite another couple to the taste testing, so we decided to ask Ryan and Angie to join us…since they live fairly close to Kaplan.

caterer4

caterer2

caterer3

Our favorite contenders of the night were the crab and corn bisque, shrimp fettuccine, fried fish and shrimp, bodin balls, meat pies, cold spinach dip and a cold pasta salad. I know, not very healthy but totally delicious. Our tummies were definitely overly stuffed by the end of the night. Brett and I agreed to meet with one other caterer in order to compare food selections and prices before making a final decision. Let me know if you happen to know a great caterer in the Acadiana area. I’m open to suggestions.

The next day, I met with my potential florist. My meeting with Mia from Root Floral Design went by fairly well. If you are in need of any sort of flower arrangements, I highly recommend Root Floral Design. My co-worker Mike suggested that I use Mia for a flower arrangement I needed to have done for last year’s company Christmas party. It was a strange request from me, but Mia blew me away with her talent. See arrangement below.

DSC_8136

During my visit, Mia assured me that she’d be able to get peonies for my bridal bouquet, which made me one happy lady. This was also probably the most fun I’ve had with the planning process so far. I was finally able to express what sort of details I’d like to see on our wedding day. Other flowers we discussed using were hydrangeas, garden roses, lilly of the valley, white Ohara roses and eucalyptus. Mia was super encouraging and even gave me a big hug as I left her shop that day.

White-Peonies-Bouquet-Bridal-Store-Miami

Photo credit by Be Chic.

Aren’t the peonies beautiful? I’ve been pretty much obsessed with peonies since I found out about Pinterest. If you’re interested to see more of what I’m envisioning for our special day, please be sure to check out my Ideas for Future Wedding board on My Cajun Trinity’s Pinterest Page.

Later that afternoon my allergies got the best of me right before I headed out to the gym for a Circuit Training class. I got through the class, but I honestly should have went home and straight to bed. I could barely open my eyes and sneezed throughout the entire class. Lesson learned…I skipped the gym yesterday in order to let my body heal. This was extremely hard for me since it’s difficult to tell myself to slow down, but ultimately if my body is aching I say no to the gym. If I’m only dealing with a tiny cold, I continue my normal workout routine.

I did; however, have enough energy to prepare dinner for Brett and I last night. So, when I returned home from work I got busy in the kitchen and prepared turkey burgers for Brett to cook on the grill.

BBQ Turkey Burgers

1 pound of ground turkey
1 tablespoon of BBQ sauce
1 teaspoon ground mustard
1 1/2 teaspoons paprika
1 teaspoon garlic salt

Mix all ingredients then form into burger patties. Brett placed them on the grill and added a bit more BBQ sauce while cooking. I also sautéed one small onion on top of the stove in order to dress the burgers once done. We sandwiched the burgers between whole wheat sandwich thins. I then added lettuce and tomato to dress the burger. I also prepared sweet potato fries to serve as a side.

turkeyburger

It was healthy and delicious!

Today I feel 90% better and actually attended another Circuit Training class this afternoon. No watery eyes or sneezing involved. It felt great to get back into the swing of things.

One more day until the weekend. Enjoy the rest of your evening!

4 thoughts on “Feeling Under the Weather

  1. Jamie Noto

    The peonies are so pretty! So glad you are feeling better and those turkey burgers look great! Enjoy your weekend!

    Like

    Reply
  2. Pingback: Morgan City Weekend Recap | My Cajun Trinity

  3. Pingback: Worst Foods to Avoid | My Cajun Trinity

Leave a Reply

