The Wedding Crafting begins…

Good Evening Guys!

Hope you all had a lovely weekend! My weekend was filled with family time, and I also dove into my first wedding project. Although Brett does most of the DIYing around our house, I often enjoy partaking in small craft projects of my own as well. I’m very excited about the project I worked on this weekend, but I won’t leak any details until I’m completely done.

The rest of my weekend was pretty laid back, yet entirely too quick. On Friday evening Brett and I enjoyed a sushi date at Sushi Roxx in Broussard, LA. We each started with a mushroom soup and edamame, and then shared the sushi rolls below.

IMG_1280

We also shared a canister of Saki at dinner and decided to stop by Albertson’s on the way home to purchase a bottle of Saki to enjoy later that evening.

I took a Body Pump class Saturday morning which resulted in soreness all day today in my chest and abs. I ran a few errands after the class, and then later that afternoon my parents arrived to my house. That evening they took Brett and I out for dinner. Once we returned home, we all got to bed pretty early since today was a busy day for all of us.

We attended mass at St. Genevieve this morning, which is where Brett and I will be getting married next year. The mass was beautiful, but the choir was outstanding. I literally felt like I was attending a live musical. There were a few guest musicians in the choir today, so the music throughout the mass was amazingly powerful. Some songs even moved both my Dad and I to tears. Yes, we both have huge, soft hearts. I honestly love this special trait of ours, but I’m certainly not sure how we will make it down the aisle on my wedding day.

After returning home and eating lunch, everyone got to work. My Dad and Brett pretty much worked on the outside of our home today. They are currently replacing a few of the exterior wooden panels to the house. Once the rotten panels are repaired, we’ll then move on to painting. I cannot tell you guys how much this excites me since I cannot stand the Christmas theme colors that appear on my house at the moment. See below.

DSC03684

Below are a few pictures I captured today.

DSC03668

DSC03669

DSC03671

DSC03681

And of course, like any project, a mess was made.

DSC03678

In the midst of all the remodeling today, Brett was also able to cook all of us a Chicken Stew for dinner. I wrote down his recipe as he cooked the stew today since we all know that Brett is horrible at documenting his amazing recipes. He claims it’s all stored in his head, but I told him that I knew our readers would appreciate my efforts of jotting down the recipe. See recipe below.

DSC03686

Chicken Stew

2-3 pounds of chicken (we used boneless thighs and breast tonight, but we usually use bone-in legs, thighs and boneless breast)
Salt, pepper and garlic powder to taste
Kitchen Bouquet

2-3 onions
1/4 cups of cooking oil (Vegetable or Canola)
1 quart of Guidry’s Creole Seasoning
Water
One whole bunch of green onion
Savoie’s Instant Roux & Gravy Thickener

Season meat with salt, pepper and garlic powder. Then add a tablespoon of Kitchen Bouquet and toss meat in order to coat evenly. Brown onions in cooking oil. Once they are browned, add chicken to the pot. Once the chicken is browned, remove from the pot. Add a pint of Guidry’s Creole Seasoning to the pot and brown. Once the Guidry’s is browned, place the chicken back into the pot and add three cups of water. Cook on medium fire until chicken begins to break apart. Add green onion. Then finally, place Savoie’s Instant Roux & Gravy Thickener into pot until a stew-like consistency is achieved.

We served the stew over rice with a side of potato salad and roasted broccoli. Everything was delicious!

Well, we are all off to take showers and get some rest for another busy day of working tomorrow. As always, I wish you guys a fantastic week ahead!

Wedding Update: We officially have a date, a ceremony site, a reception site, a photographer and a florist. Woo hoo! I won’t be announcing the date via Facebook or the blog until we send out Save the Dates to our potential guest. 

 

2 thoughts on “The Wedding Crafting begins…

  1. Pingback: My Bridesmaid Proposal! | My Cajun Trinity

  2. Pingback: Our Starter Story – A Tour of Our Home | My Cajun Trinity

Leave a Reply

