Asian Almond Crunch Salad

Hey Guys!

Just wanted to pop in real quick to share with you guys a recipe and a workout I came up with today.

I always face a challenge during lunchtime if I do not have leftovers in the fridge. This past Sunday I purchased a bag of broccoli slaw, and wanted to incorporate it into my lunch in order to consume some very nutritious vegetables. I looked around my kitchen (actullay dining room, since Brett is renovating in the kitchen at the moment) for other items to toss in with the slaw, and also created my very own dressing. Below is the recipe for my very own Asian Almond Crunch Salad!

Asian Almond Crunch Salad

2 cups of broccoli slaw
1 1/2 tablespoons of sliced almonds
1 tablespoon of green onion

Dressing:
2 tablespoons of plain greek yogurt
2 teaspoons of Asian salad dressing
2 teaspoons of Veri Veri Teriyaki sauce

I mixed my dressing first in a bowl, then added the rest of the ingredients and tossed until evenly distributed.

This was my kind of meal since there were little dishes that needed to be cleaned afterward.

image-46

If you have a tough time consuming vegetables, I highly recommend giving this salad a try. In fact, I think I may toss another one together tonight for dinner.

After work today I headed to the gym and completed 10 minutes on the stair-master followed by one round of the below workout, then 10 minutes on the elliptical.

oneminuteexercise

I had initially planned to do the circuit workout for two rounds, but because Brett was off of work today, I decided to cut the workout a bit short. Even though I cut the workout short, I was still dripping with sweat as I left the gym.

So, as I mentioned earlier, Brett is renovating in the kitchen this week. It drives my OCD bonkers when the house feels like it’s in a million pieces. I took a picture of our dining area, but I’m a little too embarassed to share it with you guys. Although these stages of renovating drive me nuts, I try my best to keep my thoughts positive because I know that the improvements will make the house look great in the end.

image-47

The kitchen renovations all started with the installation of recessed lighting this past weekend. Now it has moved on to painting the walls and possibly painting the cabinets as well. Brett is not crazy about the idea of painting the cabinets a creamy white color but I’m all about it. What are your opinions? I cannot stand to looks at those ugly, orange cabinets anymore. I’m hoping to ask my co-worker to photoshop a picture of the cabinets the color I’m envisioning so that I can finally convince Brett that this is indeed a stellar decision!

And last, but not least, check out our flowerbed near our patio. Brett finished up this flowerbed the same day that he proposed to me. I guess I got a bit consumed with out recent engagement and kept forgetting to post the before and after pictures on the blog. It looks a million times better, don’t you think?

flowerbed

Well guys, we’re halfway through the week! Enjoy your evening!

Leave a Reply

