Weekend Update

Good evening guys!

Wow, I sure am happy that today is finally over. We had some horrible weather come through last night which kept me up until almost one in the morning. Needless to say, I didn’t get the rest I needed to power me through this busy, busy Monday.

It’s always really difficult for me to get back into work mode when the past weekend was super fun and also not quite long enough.

Our weekend began by attending the Way of the Cross Friday evening as a family. Afterwards, my parents took Brett and I out for crawfish. On the way home, we needed to make a quick trip to Wal-Mart for a few items. Little did we know our quick trip would take us a bit longer than we expected. As we were parking, a middle aged woman flagged us down. Her vehicle was not starting and at first we thought she only needed a jump, but it turned out that she needed to replace the battery to her vehicle. Luckily my Dad and Brett helped her choose a battery, and also purchased the tools that they needed to replace the battery since the maintenance department had already closed. It was truly wonderful to see my whole family come together in a random act of kindness, and definitely made all of hearts feel warm and fuzzy.

image11

Earlier that day, Brett had found a lawn mower on the side of the road and was determined to bring it back to life. I tell you, this guy loves picking things up off the side of the road. After about an hour of trying to fix the lawn mower, he finally admitted defeat. Oh well, even though he was not successful, we were able to enjoy a few cocktails while socializing together.

image10

The next day Brett and my Dad installed recessed lighting in our kitchen. We’ll dedicate another post later on the blog about this, but I must tell you guys that it’s quite amazing what different lighting can do to a space.

My parents headed back home early in the afternoon, and after cleaning ourselves up, we headed out to Rayne, LA. Brett and I had an appointment to check out a possible wedding reception venue in Rayne, and I think we may have found a winner. We have one more place we’re going to check out tomorrow, then it’s decision making time.

After wrapping things up at the venue, we headed over to Ryan and Angie’s for a small get-together that evening.

image

It was such a beautiful afternoon spent with most of Brett’s co-workers from the hospital.

brettsbday

Rachel was super sweet and brought Brett a cake in order to celebrate his birthday with everyone.

Later that evening, Brett’s co-worker Toby was nice enough to let us sample his homemade wine.

image8

All three wines that I tried were fantastic, and I’m very impressed with Toby’s neat hobby.

image9

Below is a picture of Brett with all of his nursing buddies.

image12

Thanks Ryan and Angie for an incredible evening and for your hospitality.

Sunday was spent doing my usual Sunday rituals, and we ended the weekend by watching 12 Years a Slave. I give this movie four out of five stars. It was a really great movie, but I must warn you guys that it was a bit hard to watch at times. I found myself tensing up many times throughout this movie, but overall it was fantastic and very well deserving of the Oscar it was awarded.

Today was a very busy day in the office. I had two meetings, one of which was revolved around planning for a visitation of four high school Robotic teams to our facility. My company sponsored the kits needed for these teams to build robots for a regional competition. We found out in the meeting today that one of the four teams placed first place and will be competing nationally later in the year. Our main objective for sponsoring these teams was to give back to the future of our company. We’re hoping that these students can potentially become engineers for our company, and ultimately realize that they do not need to leave our community in order to find a career in this profession. Below is a picture of myself and two co-workers presenting a “big check” to the Lafayette Parish School System.

1932662_661273577243269_2104496240_o

After work today I headed to the gym and did 15 minutes on the stair master followed by a 50 minute cycling class. So, I think it’s safe to say that I’m beyond exhausted, and now I’m off to shower and get to bed early.

I hope your week is off to a great start, and I’ll be back throughout the week with more post!

4 thoughts on “Weekend Update

  1. Jamie Noto

    Whew! I’m exhausted reading how busy you 2 are on the weekends and I love how your family gets involved! Sounds like so much fun! I’m off today so I’m busy weeding flower beds so I can get busy planting flowers by this weekend! It’s still cool and super windy today! Enjoy the rest of your week! Bye from Navasota!

    Like

    Reply
  2. My Cajun Trinity Post author

    Jamie, my parents mentioned to me today that they passed through Navasota yesterday. They are super obsessed with blue bonnets and apparently there are many near that area! Hope your weeding went well! We’re so honored that you are a big fan of our blog!

    Like

    Reply
    1. Jamie Noto

      Wow what a small world! Not sure which direction they came thru but if they came from the Brenham area they probably came right thru our downtown and right past my husbands store…Noto’s Home and Auto! My husband is 3rd generation for the store! Yes…the blue bonnets and wildflowers are gorgeous this year!

      Like

      Reply
  3. Pingback: Feeling Like a Champion | My Cajun Trinity

Leave a Reply

