Weekend Update

Good Evening Friends!

I hope you all had a lovely weekend!

My weekend was filled with lots of brainstorming for our future wedding and family time. I arrived to my parents house in Texas around 6:30 pm Friday evening. As I was walking through the door, my Dad was pouring the boiled crabs pictured below onto the patio table.

IMG_1176

After showing my Mom my engagement ring, I grabbed a cold, Coors Light and got to peeling these bad boys. The crabs were perfection. If I had to choose a last meal, I would, without a doubt, choose boiled crabs. I not only love the taste of crabs, but also enjoy visiting with family and friends while partaking in the feast.

Later that night, I asked my Mom what day and time she and my Dad got married. She wasn’t sure so she pulled out their wedding album to gather the information I was questioning. I always enjoy looking at their wedding album. It’s truly amazing to see how much the style has changed over the years. It’s also crazy to realize how much you do in fact look like your parents.

IMG_1177

Aren’t they beautiful?

My Mom also shared a fun fact with me that night. She and my Dad actually honeymooned in Lafayette, LA (my current hometown). They also attended mass at St. Genevieve the Sunday after their wedding, which is the same church that Brett and I agreed upon using for our wedding ceremony. I’ve only placed a deposit down for the church, so nothing is completely set in stone yet. I have to admit, I’m really hoping this church does work out, especially now that I know the church links to my parent’s marriage all those years ago.

The next day Mom, Dad and I got ready and headed out for lunch. After lunch we did a bit of shopping for Brett’s upcoming birthday. Since he reads the blog, I’m not going to leak what we were in search of…even though I’m 99.9% sure he knows what he is receiving from us this year.

We enjoyed afternoon coffee when we returned to my parents house later that afternoon, and then I made a few calls to possible venues for our wedding reception. Unfortunately no one answered my calls since apparently no one works in the office on a Saturday. I was actually able to get in touch with a few venues today, and I scheduled appointments to view some of them throughout this week.

Later that evening my parents and I headed to Beaumont for dinner. We dined at one of our favorite restaurants, Pappadeaux Seafood Kitchen! We had a 30 minute wait, so my Dad and I grabbed a Long Island Iced Tea at the bar to sip on while we waited.

IMG_1178

Once we were seated, we ordered the below seafood fondue as a starter. Holy cow, this dish is just amazing. I especially loved the mushrooms and spinach within the cheesy goodness!

IMG_1179

I ordered the Tilapia Lafayette as my main dish. The fish was topped with crabmeat, shrimp and tomatoes and served with a side of spaghetti squash. I actually ordered this dish for the first time at my Dad’s retirement party a little less than two years ago. I was intrigued by the name of the dish, since I actually live in Lafayette. After reading the description, I was totally sold, and it’s been one of my favorite dishes at the restaurant since then.

IMG_1180

I was also highly impressed with my Mom’s dish that night as well. She ordered another Tilapia dish that was glazed with a brown butter sauce and roasted hazelnuts. Those hazelnuts stole the show for me that night. I love nutty flavors, especially when I taste them in WINE! : )

IMG_1181

And my Dad ordered the King Crabs like usual. He shared with me a bite, and they were fantastic as always.

IMG_1182

And check out these monstrous asparagus he ordered as his side!

IMG_1183

That night we all left Pappadeaux’s completely full and happy. I was super tired when we got home and ended up going to bed fairly early. The next day we all attended mass together, ate lunch, then I packed up and headed back to Lafayette. Thanks Mom and Dad for the wonderful hospitality as usual!

When I made it home, I ironed clothes, straightened the house and made a grocery bill.

I ended the weekend by cooking a Cabbage Casserole. My co-worker Mike forwarded me a base recipe he used to make this dish a few weeks ago. Mike follows the ketosis diet, and also has great taste when it comes to food dishes. So, I trusted him 100% when he told me that this recipe was fantastic. I followed his base recipe, but added more onions and used less beef. Below is the recipe I used last night.

Mike’s Cabbage Casserole

1.25 pounds of ground meat
1/2 small onion chopped
1/2 small head of cabbage shredded
8 oz. can of tomato sauce
1/2 cup of diced tomatoes
2 cups of cheddar cheese shredded
1/2 tsp garlic powder
1/2 tsp onion powder
Salt and Pepper to taste

Brown ground meat in a pan until cooked through then drain. Add onion, garlic powder and onion powder. Cook for five minutes. Remove from pan and set aside. Add cabbage to pan and saute until soft. In a large bowl, mix ground beef mixture, cabbage, tomato sauce, diced tomatoes and one cup of cheddar cheese. spread in a 9×13 pan and top with remaining one cup of cheese. Bake at 350 degrees for 25 minutes until hot and bubbly.

IMG_1187

I also served the meal with a side of broccoli.

Brett told me that he was highly impressed with the meal since he wasn’t too excited when I first told him what we were eating for dinner. Mike also mentioned to me today that he thought the cabbage is a great substitute for pasta.

Today was a typical Monday in the office…busy, busy, busy. After work, I hit up the gym for a cycling class, and tonight I’m flying solo for dinner since Brett is having dinner with one of his co-workers. Leftover cabbage casserole to the rescue, and I’m not complaining.

Hope you guys have a great week ahead!

What is your favorite restaurant when dining out? What is your favorite meal EVER? 

2 thoughts on “Weekend Update

  1. Pingback: Very Eventful Weekend | My Cajun Trinity

  2. Pingback: Chicken Salad over Spinach and Broccoli Slaw | My Cajun Trinity

Leave a Reply

