Weekend Update – Spring Forward

Happy Monday everyone!

Since the last two weeks have been three day work weeks for me, I’m really looking forward to getting back into a normal routine this week. It seems that every time I take a vacation or “just vacation days”, near the end I’m always ready to get home and back to a regular schedule. Am I the only one that feels that way? I guess it’s because I miss my regular habits…especially eating healthier. Although my recent vacation days involved staying home, I’m very ready to get back to the gym and to see more vegetables on my meal plates.

After work last Thursday, I headed to the gym to take a Circuit Training class, and since Brett had to take an in-service class after his shift at the hospital, I was on my own for dinner. That night I prepared myself a Chicken and Avocado Soup. I wasn’t sure how it was going to come out, so I was sort of happy that I was cooking it for myself only. The soup ended up being a winner in my opinion, and I’m looking forward to making it for Brett real soon since it was quick and easy. Here is the recipe I followed:

Chicken Avocado Soup

chickenavocadosoup2

chickenavacado soup

2 chicken breasts
3 teaspoons olive oil, divided
Salt and pepper to taste
1 1/2 cups green onions, chopped, divided
1 teaspoon minced garlic
1 tomato, diced
3 – 14.5 oz. cans chicken broth (low sodium)
1/8 teaspoon cumin
1 teaspoon coarse kosher salt
2 avocados, diced
1/2 cup cilantro, finely chopped

Season chicken with salt and pepper. In a large skillet over medium-high, heat one teaspoon of olive oil. Add chicken to the heated skillet and lower temperature to medium. Once cooked, shred chicken and cover with foil to keep warm, then set aside.
In a medium sized pot, heat the remaining two teaspoons of oil over medium heat until hot.
Add the one cup chopped green onions and minced garlic to pot; sauté about two minutes.
Add diced tomato; sauté one minute, until soft.
Add chicken broth, cumin and salt to pot.
Stir well and bring to a boil. Cover pot and simmer on low for 15-20 minutes.
Fill each bowl with shredded chicken, diced avocado, chopped green onions (from remaining half a cup), and cilantro. Next, ladle the chicken broth on the layered chicken in each bowl. Enjoy.

A peek into our weekend…

Friday was consumed with deep, Spring cleaning while Brett continued to work on the patio sofa he found on the side of the road. I must say that when he began working on this project, I had my doubts. But now that he nearly finished, I am completely floored by his hard work and efforts. I’m so, so eager to show you guys the end result later in the week…hopefully.

That afternoon, Brett’s brother, Matt, came over to assist him with the patio sofa. Ava also accompanied Matt during his visit. That night we pan fried trout that my Dad caught a while back for dinner, and afterwards we made a small fire in the front yard. Ava was not interested in joining us by the fire until I bribed her with the idea of roasting marshmallows.

avamarshmallow2

It was amazing how much joy roasting marshmallows brought to this little girl. I’m so happy that she embraces the small things in life.

avamarshmallow

And since it got a bit cooler that night, she had to borrow a sweatshirt from Aunt C. GEAUX Tigers!

image-45

Saturday was spent running a few errands around town. Before returning home, we stopped by Starbucks for a little treat. I just had to take a picture of my Iced Caramel Mochiato. It was beautiful and delicious!

starbucks

Once we returned home, we continued to get our work on. I finished cleaning the house, while Brett began to stain the patio sofa.

Yesterday I abandoned my usual Sunday prep day to help Brett with our landscaping. As you can see from the pictures below, we sort of let our flower beds go last year. How embarrassing?

image-44

yard
So y
esterday was spent weeding and prepping the flower beds for a total makeover. Like always, I’ll be sure to update you guys with an after picture once we are done.

Working in the flower beds sure was a workout. I could not believe the pain my lower back was giving me last night. I guess my body is not used of staying in a squat position for that long.  It seems that most of our neighbors were outside yesterday prepping their yards for the Spring as well. I’m so ready to start seeing green lawns and beautiful bloomed gardens. And I must not forget to mention that I’m beyond happy about an extra hour of daylight in the evenings now.

Can’t you tell that I’m ready for this dreary Winter to hit the road?

Last, but certainly not least, WE FINALLY FINISHED STAINING THE PATIO CEMENT! I’m hoping to post a “How to?” post later in the week, so stay tuned! Hope you guys have a wonderful week!

Did you start prepping your yard for Spring?
Do you miss home and regular routines while away on vacation?

One thought on “Weekend Update – Spring Forward

  1. Pingback: Henderson Weekend | My Cajun Trinity

Leave a Reply

