All Dressed Up!

Happy Monday, everyone!

Hope you guys had a great weekend. Although I enjoyed my weekend very much, it was quite uneventful and I don’t have much to report. While most of my fellow Louisiana natives were out and about celebrating Mardi Gras, I was either relaxing or running errands. Brett had to work this weekend, but if I had to guess, I’d imagine we would have still skipped all the parades had he been off. It’s not that we don’t enjoy Mardi Gras, we’d just rather work on projects around the house than get beads thrown at us. Maybe next year we’ll venture out and see what Lafayette has to offer during the Mardi Gras season.

What I did enjoy over the weekend was all the pictures of various Mardi Gras Balls that some of my friends posted via Facebook. I have to say, although I don’t particular care to take part in Mardi Gras parades, I have absolutely loved the few Mardi Gras Balls that I’ve attended in the past. I love getting all dressed up for a formal event, and have never turned down the opportunity to wear a long, formal gown.

I was very fortunate to attend five Marine Corps Balls with Brett when he was in the reserves. Although it was nice to get all dolled up, it was even more of an honor to be involved in such an important event. Just for fun, I collected pictures of us from each ball to share with you guys.

ball6

Brett invited me to the first ball very last minute, so I actually wore a maxi dress with a tiny bit of bling since I was limited on shopping time prior to the event. The next year I wore a dress that I found for only $32 dollars. The following two years, I spent a bit more on my dresses, but also found them on sale as well. And the last year I used a past gown in order to save a bit of money since I had just purchased my first home.

My favorite dresses were the pink one above that I purchased for dirt cheap and the red one below. I wish I would have taken a length shot of the red dress so that you could see it’s beauty in full, but unfortunately I was caught up in all the fun and didn’t take many pictures that year.

ball 7

It’s so amazing to see how much Brett and I changed over the years. The first ball was the same year that he returned from Iraq, so he was a bit underweight in that first picture. And thank goodness I lost some of that baby fat in my face over the course of the years. I’m so proud of Brett’s accomplishments as a Marine, and I will forever cherish those memories for the rest of my life.

And since I’m talking about gowns, I cannot forget to recap my favorite dresses from the Oscars last night. I kept my list down to six, although I loved so many others last night as well. These were my favorite in order:

oscars1

Sandra Bullock – I absolutely love this rich, deep blue gown on Sandra. And because I’m sort of obsessed with Kate Middleton’s style, I love all garments done by Alexander McQueen. You may recall that McQueen designed Kate’s amazingly, perfect wedding gown that stole most of the world’s hearts a few years ago. She often wears the designer’s dresses and suits to the many special occasions she attends.

Rachel Smith – I almost always choose black if it’s an option when it comes to my wardrobe. I think it’s because black looks classic to me. I just adore this mermaid dress that Rachel Smith rocked on the Red Carpet last night.

Kate Hudson – Alright, maybe I chose Kate Hudson’s dress as one of my favorites because she’s one of my favorite celebrities. And let’s face it, she can “wow” a room no matter what she is wearing. I love that this dress screams old Hollywood, and since Kate doesn’t have a large rack, she can totally pull off the low plunge line.

oscars2

Nancy O’Dell – I feel that this dress showed off just the right amount of skin for Nancy. It was a perfect way to look sexy while still looking appropriate. I adored the neutral tones paired with her hair color and skin tone.

Lupita Nyong – Lupita’s dress by Prada totally took me back to my childhood days when I dreamed of being a princess. This fairy tale dress matched her fairy tale moment as she accepted her first Oscar last night.

Kristin Chenoweth – I’ve always been a lover of full beaded gowns. This dress reminded me so much of a gown I admired as a young girl. I can recall almost every detail of my cousin Karen’s ball gown that she wore when she passed down her crown as a pageant queen. I was around seven years old when my cousin wore the dress, so you could about imagine my admiration towards her beauty in the gown. Kristin’s dress took me straight back to that moment in my life.

Well guys, it’s another three day week for me. I’m off tomorrow and Friday. No big plans in store for Brett and I, but I have a feeling he will continue to work on the sofa frame that he found on the side of the road. The progress so far is pretty amazing, and as soon as it’s complete we will share with you the step-by-step process.

If you are partaking in any Mardi Gras festivities, please be careful and take all precautions.

Who do you think was best dressed at the Oscar’s last night?

3 thoughts on “All Dressed Up!

Leave a Reply

