Weekend Update

Hey Guys!

Hope everyone had a fantastic weekend!

Since Brett and I had the entire weekend off together for the first time in three weeks, we were determined to cross off something major on our never-ending to-do list for the house. Since Spring is just around the corner, we decided that we’d like to start focusing on the outside areas of our home. Just this week, Brett picked up a sofa frame on the side of the road that we intend to use as patio furniture (told you guys we love to dumpster dive). He has big plans for this piece, and I cannot wait to share with you guys the end results.

We contemplated between working on the sofa frame or staining the cement of our patio. Ultimately, we decided to focus on staining the cement since it would set the design tone for all the other embellishments we hope to add to the space. I also got a bit ahead of myself and ordered this outside rug to place on the cement once it’s complete. I decided to go with a true outdoor rug so that it could withstand all sorts of weather conditions.

Although we had high hopes of completely finishing this project over the weekend, the horrible humidity of Louisiana weather sort of dampened those dreams. Here is a sneak peak into the project, and like always, I promise to post a step-by-step tutorial once finished.

1912422_222195807969810_736525980_n

Later Saturday evening we got a text from our neighbors asking us if we’d like to go over for dinner. We immediately accepted the offer since we absolutely love hanging out with Dave and Camille.

image-37

image-32

Dave grilled steaks for everyone, and we also enjoyed a baked potato and salad as sides. Everything was very tasty, but I think all four of us can agree that being able to catch up with one another was even more enjoyable.

image-36

image-35

Brett and I were so matchy, matchy last night.

We wrapped up the weekend with grocery shopping and a nice, comforting dinner. Good news, Brett finally wrote down notes as he cooked tonight. So, I’m going to turn this post over to him in order to share the yummy recipe.

Fabada Soup

Hey guys, it’s Brett. There is a local restaurant, Pamplona Tapas Bar, that Celina and I love to visit regularly. They serve a Fabada Soup that I consider one of their best dishes. I Googled a recipe just to get an outline on the recipe, and followed my taste buds to recreate the tasteful dish. It does not contain the exact ingredients but the taste is nearly a perfect match!

image-38

I start by browning two yellow onions in large pot.

Then add four links of Chirizo sausage. Allow sausage to brown and once browned, add one bottle of light beer. Allow sausage to cook in beer broth for 5-10 minutes, flipping once. Remove sausage and place aside to cool.

While sausage is cooling, add Guidry’s Creole Seasoning fresh chopped veggies to already browned onions and beer broth. If your local grocery does not carry Guidry’s Creole Seasoning, it contains, onion, bell peppers, celery, parsley, scallions, and garlic.

Add one tsp. Kitchen Bouquet to brown and season veggies. Once veggies are browned, add beef broth mixture (one cup water and one tsp. low sodium beef broth powder).

Next, add four tablespoons lemon juice, 1/2 small can of tomato paste, one can seasoned diced tomatoes, two cans white northern beans (I use Trappey’s brand), and one can seasoned black beans (Trappey’s). Then add two pinches of pulled saffron. Tear saffron into small parts before adding to soup.

Once chorizo sausage is cooled, cut links diagonally or cubed and add to soup.

Cook on medium heat for 30-45 minutes or until beans or tender.

Add salt as needed and serve with baguette bread and sliced lemon.

It’s Celina again. I have to tell you guys that this is one of my favorite dishes that Brett prepares, so please be sure to try it out.

I’m happy to tell you guys that I only have a three day week ahead of me. I had to request vacation days off before March 12th in order not to lose them. So, I’ll be off this coming Tuesday and Wednesday. I guess it will make tomorrow’s Monday that much better.

Hope you guys have a relaxing evening and a wonderful week ahead!

3 thoughts on “Weekend Update

  1. Jamie Noto

    I love reading your post! Make sure y’all give step by step instructions and pics about staining your patio…that is something I want to do too! Glad y’all had a fun weekend!

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

