Valentine’s Weekend Update

Hope you guys had a wonderful Valentine’s Weekend with your special someone or with the ones you love.

Each year, Brett and I celebrate Valentine’s Day, but it’s never taken overboard. We usually buy a few treats for each other, cook dinner at home and sip on a few glasses of bubbly. I love our simple way of celebrating, and it means much more to me than a dozen roses or a big fancy meal (not to say that those things are not nice, it’s just not “us” on Valentine’s Day).

On Friday, I brought a batch of cookies to the office to share with my co-workers that I made Thursday night. During the Christmas holidays, my cousin Hope told me about these Whip Cream Cookies that she found on Pinterest.

image-24

I made them a while back for Brett and his co-workers at work, and they were a hit. I had used the lemon flavored cake mix last time, but since it was Valentine’s Day, I decided to use a Strawberry flavored cake mix this time around. The recipe is as follows:

Whip Cream Cookies

1 box of cake mix (Strawberry, Lemon, Vanilla, Chocolate, etc).
1 8 oz. container of whip cream (I used fat free)
1 egg
Powdered sugar

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Combine all ingredients. Scoop cake batter and then dip into powdered sugar. Place onto ungreased baking sheet and bake for 12 minutes.

Simply, easy…delicious!

Once five o’clock rolled around, I headed home and was surprised by many special gifts. I first noticed several, beautiful flower arrangements Brett put together that were placed around the house.

Flower Collage

Brett also gave me a Druzy jewelry necklace that you may remember me mentioning on my very first Friday Finds post…someone must have been reading the blog. : ) Due to horrible traffic that day, Brett did not have enough time to complete another one of his gifts for me, which was a picture frame that he had intended to glaze. I can’t wait to see the finished product once he’s done.

image-20

image-26

After receiving all my gifts, Brett then opened my gifts to him, which was a bag full of goodies. I made sure to include a fifth of Jack Daniel’s Tennessee Honey, which is his favorite whiskey.

image-21

image-31

That night, Brett made chicken tortilla soup and steak fajitas for us, and everything was delicious…as always.

image-14

I loved the gifts and meal, but the best gift of all was being able to share the evening with my Valentine. He really is everything and more to me, and I couldn’t imagine a life without him. Our relationship is very far from perfect, but I wouldn’t trade our love for anything else. I love you, B!

image-25

We had a fantastic evening talking about future projects for the home while enjoying a few adult beverages. We also got a late night visit from one of Brett’s best childhood friends, Cade. Cade and his girlfriend had dinner reservations for Valentine’s Day in Lafayette, so they stopped by afterwards and shared a short visit with us.

Unfortunately, Brett had to work this weekend, so I spent Saturday out and about shopping for a few items for the house. My adventure started off on a great note when I was able to find the below curtains on sale at Hancock Fabrics. These curtains will be placed in the master bedroom to block the sunlight that floods the room in the mornings.

image-30

I then headed to Hobby Lobby to purchase a mirror that Brett spotted Friday afternoon. He suggested we purchase it for the master bathroom since it was half off.  We have intentions of spray painting it white in order to match the other accessories in that bathroom. I’ll be sure to post the outcome of the project once it is complete. 

image-27
I then headed to a few other stores in search of a basket and lantern for our new sofa table but was unsuccessful. I did; however, purchase a few florals from Paul Michael’s to accent certain areas of the house.  
image-29
image-28
Later that evening, once Brett made it home from work, we met up with two of his cousins and their significant others. We had dinner at a local restaurant, Les Bon Temps. It was nice to catch up with them since they all live in Brett’s hometown of Morgan City. Unfortunately, I was caught up in all the fun, and wasn’t able to capture any of the night through photos. Here is a picture of Brett’s cousins Amanda and Alyssa on their way to Lafayette that day.
1383782_10203241933028455_766961130_n
They sure are a fun bunch, and had came into town that day to attend a Gun and Knife show. After dinner, the whole gang came over to our home to check out Brett’s latest projects. We enjoyed our visit with them completely, and are hoping for a longer visit next time.

I wrapped up the weekend today by joining my neighbor Camille and her daughter Sophia on a morning walk. Then after lunch, I brought a cake I had purchased yesterday to Brett and his co-workers at the hospital. I also completed my Sunday ritual of preparing for the week by ironing clothes and grocery shopping. Now, I’m patiently waiting for Brett to return from work.

Hope you guys have a lovely evening, and I’ll be back throughout the week for more post.

What did you do this past weekend? 


5 thoughts on “Valentine’s Weekend Update

  1. My Cajun Trinity Post author

    He doesn’t write any of his recipes down, but he mentioned that he used The Pioneer Woman’s recipe for chicken tortilla soup as an inspiration. I’ll try my best in the future to have him write them down or at least watch him carefully as he cooks.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

