DIY Dumpster Dive

Hi Friends!

Hope you guys are having a great week! I’m super excited since tomorrow is FRIDAY!

Tonight Brett will share with you another DIY project. I’ll let him wrap up the post again since I’m heading into the kitchen to bake some cookies for the office mates for Valentine’s Day. I’ll be back tomorrow for another Friday Finds. Hope you all have a great evening.

Do-It-Youself Dumpster Dive

Hey, it’s Brett! This was a super easy project that was FREE! While driving, I always keep an eye out for furniture on the side of the road. Some of my best pieces have been found in garbage piles. I spotted this old dining chair hunched next to a garbage can beside the road one day. I saw some potential in the battered chair and really wanted to use it as a “test” piece. I wanted to experiment with stain and paint, so I decided to throw it in the back of my truck.

chair1

The first step was to clean the wood of dust and dirt. I then drilled pocket holes with my Kregg Pocket Hole Jig to bring the seat back together.

DSC03516

I removed the loose legs and applied wood glue to the existed holes and ends of the legs. I replaced the legs and secured the seat by drilling wood screws though the pocket holes I previously drilled.

DSC03517

The chair was repaired, and it was time to move on to the paint and stain finish. I applied MinWax Dark Walnut stain to the entire chair and wiped all the excess stain away. I mixed Glidden’s “Peacock Blue” latex paint with the MinWax Dark Walnut stain (4 parts paint to 1 part stain) and applied it to the seat and backing of the chair with a rag. I continued to wipe the painted parts until I achieved the “look” I was going for.

chairafter

As I said before, this project was free! Keep your eyes out for pieces who’s potential has been overlooked by others. These free pieces result in little to no cost and total profit if you intend to sell the piece. As the old saying goes…”One man’s trash is another man’s treasure.”

Have you ever picked up a piece of furniture from the side of the road? 

One thought on “DIY Dumpster Dive

  1. Pingback: Weekend Update | My Cajun Trinity

Leave a Reply

