Crazy, busy day!

Good evening friends!

Well, we are only two days away from the weekend, so that must be making you smile!

Before I jump into today, I wanted to share a recipe with you guys that I tried for the first time last night. It was easy, quick and delicious! I added The Pioneer Woman to my Bloglovin’ profile, so I’ve been getting so much inspiration from her lately. Although some of her recipes don’t always call for the most healthiest ingredients, I try my best to lighten them up as best I can. I used this Buffalo Chicken Salad Recipe as inspiration last night; however, I did a few things differently. First, I used more olive oil than butter, then I used a light ranch dressing and lastly I added tomatoes, cucumbers and red onion for added nutrients.

Image

Today was one crazy, busy day for me. I started the day off at a Quality Boot Camp seminar for work which was taught by our Quality team. It was fairly informative, but it took me away from my desk so my afternoon was spent catching up on emails and phone calls. I felt like I couldn’t catch up, and I know tomorrow will be just as busy since I have to attend the second part of the Quality Boot Camp in the morning.

Since I was overwhelmed and also knew that I had loads of laundry to do at home, I was not feeling a trip to the gym this afternoon. I honestly just wanted to get home since I was feeling a bit distracted. I decided to do three rounds of The Seven Minute Workout. Since I did three rounds, I switched up some of the exercises for each round. For example: instead of doing planks the second and third round, I mixed it up with mountain climbers and burpees; instead of doing tricep dips the second and third round, I did french presses and tricep kick backs. I worked the same muscles, but changed up the exercises for variety.

When I came home for lunch today, I prepped myself another smoothie for an afternoon snack. I’ll call this guy The Green Monster.

image-6

I’ll be honest with you guys, after the first sip, it was not my favorite. But, since I wanted to consume all the wonderful greens this smoothie contained, I continued to drink up. As I got to the bottom of the smoothie I started to like it more and more. It was quite interesting. In the mix was the following:

The Green Monster

Handful of spinach
Half of an apple
3 inches of a cucumber
Half of a frozen banana
1 tablespoon of lemon juice
Half a cup of lemon sparkling water
Splash of water

Mix everything in a blender!

I’ll let you guys in on a little secret…I don’t always like everything I consume, but ultimately eat or drink it anyway because I know the power these super foods contain.

As I think back to my younger years, I can remember my brother and I never liking anything green in any of our food. It’s kind of silly but my mom would actually place aside my serving of certain meals before adding anything green. Unless she could disguise that green ingredient of course.

I typically have difficulties eating broccoli, brussel sprouts and strawberries. I know, you think I’m crazy because I don’t like strawberries, but the little seeds just drive my teeth crazy. I try my best to get creative when cooking with the foods I don’t particular care for, and it makes consuming them a bit easier. For example: I add a lighter cheese to broccoli or throw strawberries into a smoothie. There are so many ways that you can make those less enjoyable foods more scrumptious.

Although I got through my Green Monster, I think I’ll stick to my greek yogurt and milk based smoothies from now on.

What power foods do you not enjoy? 
Can you suggest another type of workout to do at home? 

2 thoughts on “Crazy, busy day!

  1. Melissa @ Freeing Imperfections

    Your photography is amazing! I really wish I had a half decent camera. Someday!

    That’s really too bad that the smoothie wasn’t the greatest. The ingredients list had me really intrigued. It sounds like it could be really refreshing.

    Like

    Reply
  2. My Cajun Trinity Post author

    I wish I did too. These were taken by my iPhone 4S. I use the camera+ app to edit them. I normally use clarity and depth of field tools to enhance. Hope that helps! You should try the smoothie, it wasn’t too bad. Try using a kiwi instead of banana though, that’s what the original recipe called for.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

