Friday Finds III

Good Afternoon!

I missed you guys yesterday! Brett and I spent the evening at one of his co-worker’s house for dinner yesterday. Since we didn’t get back home until late in the evening, I only had enough time to shower and get to bed. Will post a recap of yesterday later this evening!

So the good news is that I got to the gym yesterday, but unfortunately did not get there this morning.

I took another 5:45 am Circuit Training class yesterday. I know, you guys think I’m boring since I take the same classes all the time. I can’t help it, group exercise classes are so motivating. It’s very hard to push myself, especially at the crack of dawn. Yesterday’s class was taught by a great instructor and she yelled out some fantastic quotes, such as “Why did you wake up and come here this morning?” I love it…very inspirational! Circuit Training is pretty intense and yesterday’s workout definitely kicked my booty! Speaking of high intensity workouts, I’d like to discuss today’s Friday Finds.

If you’re new to the blog, every Friday I post something on the market that I find to be trendy, fun and exciting.

DSC03332

Wednesday, I mentioned that I did The Seven Minute Workout, which I found through an app on my iPhone. The app takes you through 12 different exercises for 30 seconds, with a 10 second rest between each exercise. If performed at your maximum intensity, this is a solid workout. I also thought of using this quick workout as a pre-workout before lifting weights in the gym. Another idea is to repeat the workout two to three times in order to push yourself beyond your limits.

DSC03333

The best thing about the app is that it does all the counting for you, has a description of each exercise in case you’re not familiar with that particular move and it’s FREE!

12well_physed-superJumboPicture source: New York Times Blog

All too often I hear people making excuses that they do not have time to workout. If you’re determined, you can find time, trust me. And honestly, who cannot spare seven minutes…really? It also seems as though everyone has a smart phone or a tablet these days, so this workout can be done at the gym or at home.

Below are a few other free fitness apps that may be of interest to you:

  • Nike Training Club App – This app includes over 100 full-body workouts and was developed by Nike professional trainers.
  • Charity Miles – This app allows you to donate to a list of different charities without opening your wallet. Bikers can earn up to 10 cents a mile and walkers and runners can earn up to 25 cents a mile. I actually started using this one yesterday during my Walks with Maggie. I’ve already raised 50 cents towards the Wounded Warrior Project. May not seem like much, but if I walk two miles each day during the weekday, I could donate $10 to a different charity each month.
  • Pump Up – This app helps build your perfect workout either in the gym, home or even while you are travelling. You can choose the duration of your workout, select your equipment, choose your target muscles and any add-ons.

Past Friday Finds Posts:

Friday Finds
Friday Finds II

What is sparking your interest lately?

13 thoughts on “Friday Finds III

  1. Pingback: Tips for the Thanksgiving Holiday! | My Cajun Trinity

  2. Pingback: Friday Finds XI | My Cajun Trinity

Leave a Reply

