Walking with Maggie!

Well, we’re over the hump! Only two more days until the weekend!

Last night’s dinner was on my mind this morning and I was so happy once lunch rolled around so I could heat up leftover chicken tortilla soup. Brett informed me last night that he used The Pioneer Woman’s recipe as an inspiration. So, if you’re interested in making this soup, I think this would be a good starting point. Also, I’m sure you can find many more yummy recipes through her blog!

I had a small bowl of the soup along with a veggie packed salad for lunch today. The salad included: romaine lettuce, leftover BBQ shrimp from Sunday, tomatoes, yellow bellpepper, cucumber, leftover guacamole, and Marzetti’s Simply Dressed Vinaigrette.

DSC03328I’m bummed to report to you guys that I was unable to make it to the gym this morning. I was feeling soreness everywhere and decided to listen to my body and take it easy today. I usually only take one or two rest days a week and it ultimately comes down to whether or not Brett is on or off during the weekend.

So, what does a rest day consist of? Doing nothing? Absolutely NOT!!! Have you ever heard the saying, “A body in motion, stays in motion” and “a body at rest, stays at rest?”

There are multiple things that I do during the day to keep my body in motion since I unfortunately have a desk job. And today I’d like to elaborate on one of them. I’d like to call this segment…

Walking with Maggie

When I started working with my current employer, I immediately noticed a lady, which later I found out to be named Maggie, walking during our two 15 minute breaks. I thought it was a great use of her break time, but was quite nervous to ask her if I could join. I also knew that I sweat a ridiculous amount, so I wasn’t sure how well this would pane out in the summer.

Last year as the Lenten season was approaching, I asked Maggie if I could join her on these walks. She responded that she usually walks alone in order for her to say her rosary, but wouldn’t mind showing me the route she takes everyday during break.  As a Catholic myself, I totally respected her wishes to walk alone, but was also very grateful for her walking with me the first time around. During the Lenten season I too say the rosary daily, so I used this 15 minute walk as a chance to pray to Mother Mary as well.

Unfortunately, I don’t always make it out for our walk every single day due to meetings conflicting with our breaks. We’re also forced to walk indoors on the days when we experience a thunderstorm or if it’s rainy. This is not as enjoyable since we do not get to embrace mother nature and the walk indoors also requires us to use the stair well. Although we are probably burning more calories, it’s just not the same as walking outside.

See, I like to walk outside during my breaks because it makes me feel good. Although I’m glad I’m getting my exercise and my Vitamin D, I honestly walk outside because it sparks a happiness in me and I escape into prayer. It’s beautiful!
photo-5

I even keep a pair of extra walking shoes at my desk, so I’m able to walk in comfort.

Although Maggie and I don’t always walk together, we always exchange some sort of greeting as we pass each other. The walk not only gets me moving, but it also allows me to get away from the noise of everyday life. There are a small group of trees along our route and every time I pass them, I appreciate the beauty that God placed on this earth.

image-24

I can’t tell you guys enough how much I appreciate these walks and I’m forever grateful for the friendship I’ve developed with Maggie.

image-23

Maggie during our afternoon walk today!

image-26

Today was the most absolute perfect day for walking!

After work, I headed to the salon to get my hair trimmed. I absolutely love my stylist and have not switched to anyone else for a little over a year now. The session always starts with a head massage, and that my friends is the best part. It felt so good after a long day at work. My stylist always listens to me carefully and I’m always 100% satisfied.

Even though I got both 15 minute break walks in today and I probably climbed the stairs about a dozen times at work today, I still wanted to get a small workout in before preparing dinner. Once I got home, I quickly did The 7 Minute Workout that I actually found through a free app. on my iPhone. More details on this to come in a future post.

After the small workout I got to work in the kitchen. Tonight, I finally made my baked Tilapia.

Baked Tilapia

Nonstick Spray
2 tablespoons melted butter
2 tablespoons Dijon mustard
1 tablespoon chopped fresh dill
1 cup panko breadcrumbs
1 to 2 teaspoons red pepper flakes
Kosher salt and freshly cracked black pepper
Two 6-ounce tilapia fillets
Tartar Sauce, recipe follows

Preheat the oven to 450 degrees. Mix together the melted butter, Dijon and dill in a pie plate. In another pie plate, combine the panko, red pepper flakes and some salt and pepper. Dredge the fish through the melted butter mixture and then through the panko. Place on a baking pan and place in the oven. Bake until cooked through and lightly golden. 12-15 minutes.

Tartar Sauce

1/2 cup mayonnaise
3 tablespoons pickled relish
1 tablespoon chopped fresh dill
1 tablespoon Dijon mustard

Mix the mayonnaise, relish, dill, and mustard together in a small bowl. Cover and refrigerate 1 hour before serving. Yield 3/4 cup.

I also place my tilapia filets in buttermilk for 3-4 hours before cooking. If you don’t have buttermilk, you can substitute milk with a tablespoon of vinegar. 

DSC03329

I served this meal with a side of green beans.

Now off to enjoy what is left of the evening. Wish me luck that I make it to the gym again tomorrow morning!

How do you stay moving throughout the day? 

7 thoughts on “Walking with Maggie!

  1. Pingback: Friday Finds III | My Cajun Trinity

  2. Pingback: Happy Birthday James & Brett! | My Cajun Trinity

  3. Pingback: 5 Ways to Stay Active in the Office | My Cajun Trinity

  4. Pingback: ONE YEAR | My Cajun Trinity

  5. Pingback: How to Avoid the Burnout | My Cajun Trinity

Leave a Reply

