Ava and Fries!

Praise my fitness angels, I made it to the gym again this morning for a 5:45 am Circuit Training class. I think part of the reason I had no problem getting up is because I knew I could not work out this afternoon. Again, morning workouts do not conflict with any other plans in your day. Tonight I got the privilege of watching the one and only, Miss Ava Grace! Ava is Brett’s godchild and she is always an easy one to take care of when her parents need extra help from either me or Brett. Here is the little cutie, isn’t she precious?

DSC03309-001

DSC03307

Backing it up a bit to last night.

I had intentions of cooking baked Tilapia, but I totally forgot to soak the fish in buttermilk for a few hours yesterday afternoon. Luckily, I had a backup plan which was to take out roast beef that I had in the freezer. We ate the roast beef on top of whole wheat sandwich rounds and I topped mine with light mayo, romaine lettuce, red onion and tomato. I’ll be sure to share my roast beef recipe with you guys another time, but right now I want to discuss the side that we had with our sandwiches…Sweet Potato Fries!

I’ll be the first to admit to you that I LOVE French fries, especially McDonald’s French fries. Ooops, I said it! I told you I was a real person! Although I love regular French fries, I try my best to indulge in them only every so often. When I want to have French fries at home, I almost always opt to use sweet potatoes instead of regular white potatoes. The health benefits are wonderful and I also bake them in the oven instead of frying.

image-22

Sweet Potato Fries

2-3 Sweet Potatoes
Olive Oil
Salt

Heat oven to 375 degrees. Then simply peel the potatoes and use a heavy duty knife to cut the potatoes into wedges. Spread the wedges out onto a baking sheet, using aluminum foil for an easy clean-up. Drizzle an even amount of olive oil, around a tablespoon, and sprinkle salt to taste. Cook for 30 minutes, flipping every 5-10 minutes.

Check out this article I read over at the Cleveland Clinic website that compares the health facts of both white and sweet potatoes.

Back to today!

Brett was off today, so he was in charge of dinner tonight. Brett’s cousin Adam gave us some deer burritos the last time he visited, so we took those out the freezer and Brett also attempted his first tortilla soup. Can you tell I’m trying to clear out the freezer? It’s overflowing, so I’m glad we’re pulling things out of it this week. And again, no recipe, since Brett was the cook tonight. I really wish he’d write everything down, because this soup was AMAZING!

DSC03320-001

The burritos were pretty great as well. Both meals got two thumbs up from Ava!

DSC03323

During her visit, she helped Brett reassemble the media center, we played a minion game on the iPad, and right now she and Brett are camping out under our dining table, playing “Cowboys”.

DSC03325

Ah, she’s a little trip. While she was helping Brett with the media center she told him, “It takes a lot of hard work to do something great”. She is such a smart child. I thought it was wonderful that she recognized Brett’s hard work towards his project.

And speaking of the media center, its almost complete. I am so excited about it and cannot wait to reveal to you guys real soon. Stay tuned!

Do you rather workout in the morning, lunch or evenings?
Which potatoes do you prefer?
Care to share your favorite healthy sweet potato recipe?

15 thoughts on “Ava and Fries!

  1. Pingback: Our Flower Girl! | My Cajun Trinity

  2. Pingback: Life Lately | My Cajun Trinity

  3. Pingback: Friday Finds XI | My Cajun Trinity

  4. Pingback: Week and Workout Plan – Week 5 | My Cajun Trinity

  5. Pingback: Summer is HERE! (And Meal and Workout Plan) | My Cajun Trinity

Leave a Reply

