Weekend Update – 1.13.2014

Good evening folks! I hope your week is off to a fantastic start!

My week started off great, I actually made it to the gym this morning.  Woo hoo! Yes, waking up at 4:58 am is horrid, but it sure feels great to complete my workout by 6:30 am. I enjoy working out in the morning since it does not conflict with any other plans in my day. It also allows me extra time in the afternoon to run errands, clean the house and spend extra time in the kitchen. I got off track during the holidays and was determined to get back to my morning workouts today! Hooray! Now, let’s just pray that I can get up each morning for the rest of the week.

Weekend Update

Brett and I both had the weekend off together and our plans were very minimal. Typically, Brett works every other weekend, so it’s very rare that we don’t have plans on a weekend when he is off work.

When I returned home from my workout Friday evening, I noticed four small flower arrangements around the house. Brett knows that I love to display fresh flowers when we have guests over to our home. I fine it adds a bit of color to the house since our home is basically neutral tones throughout. We had no intentions of having people over this weekend, so I thought it was so sweet of him to put together a few arrangements in the home without me knowing. If you continue to read the blog, you’ll quickly gather that he is a bit of a romantic.

image-15

Aren’t they beautiful? He’s so talented.

After we woke up Saturday morning we headed out to run errands to Hobby Lobby and Lowes. I wanted to grab some fake flowers for a centerpiece I’m looking to create for our dining table. I’ve asked Brett to build me a piece for this centerpiece, so as soon as he completes the project, I’ll be sure to post our creation. In the meantime, here are the florals I purchased.

image-12

After we bought the supplies needed at Lowes to continue working on the media center, we headed home and got to work. Normally, I do not assist Brett with his projects since he tends to work on them on the days he has off when I’m at work. I was excited to be his assistant and was intrigued by some of the tricks he taught me. Since we aren’t completely finished, I’m going to wait to reveal in another DIY post. Just to hold you guys over, I’m going to leak a sneak-peak picture.

image-13

Sadly, while working on the media center, we watched the New Orleans Saints lose their second playoff game. Although we were bummed, we can say without a doubt that they had an incredible season and we are already looking forward to the fall season.

After taking showers and getting ready, it was time to spend some much needed quality time with our good friends Kristin and Jack. We headed out to The Station to watch a performance by local artist, Marc Broussard.

image-16

The whole gang with Marc Broussard. He’s the one with the beard!

image-19

Me and my best friend, Kristin!

image-17

My better half and I!

I had never heard Marc Broussard live, so I was very excited to listen to his soulful yet jazzy voice! We all had a blast and I was also surprised to catch a glimpse of Ray Boudreaux in the audience. If you caught the last season of The Voice, you’ll know who I’m talking about.

On Sunday we got a surprise visit from my parents. They visited our hometown this weekend and was passing through Lafayette on their way to their current home, which is in Texas. We were able to catch up over coffee and they also got to see our progress on the media center.

Earlier in the week I received the rest of my bedding for my master bedroom. I spent Sunday afternoon playing around with the comforter and quilt. I’m still not 100% satisfied with the placement, but here is a picture for your enjoyment.

image-14

We ended the weekend with a nice meal and a movie. By request, I made one of Brett’s favorite meals…a cajun classic, BBQ Shrimp. Although this is not the healthiest of meals, I try to substitute ingredients when I have them on hand and always include a vegetable for added nutrients. I used the below recipe.

BBQ Shrimp

1.5 – 2 pounds large (16-20 count) shrimp (with heads)
1/4 cup dry white wine
1 tablespoon lemon juice
2 teaspoons Worcestershire sauce
2 cloves garlic, chopped
4 ounces ground black pepper
2 teaspoons paprika
1/4 teaspoon salt
1 stick of butter

In large skillet over medium heat, combine shrimp with wine, lemon juice, Worcestershire sauce and garlic. Bring to light boil and cook, shaking skillet until shrimp turn pink. Cover shrimp with thin but complete layer of black pepper. Cook 2 more minutes, then sprinkle with paprika and salt. Lower heat, cut butter into small blocks, and add three at a time to skillet until butter is completely melted. (Keep shaking skillet until creamy orange sauce appears.) When all is incorporated, serve shrimp with sauce. Use hot French bread for dipping and serve with vegetable.

You can use lower sodium Worcestershire sauce and Simply Balanced butter to make a lighter version of this recipe. You can also omit the French bread or use a whole grain.

 image-20

We ended the night and weekend by watching Despicable Me II. I just love those little minions. Brett and I are really big kids at heart, we love watching animated movies. We shared many laughs together last night and it was the best way to end a great weekend.

I hope you all have a wonderful week. Please tune into the blog throughout the week, I have a few recipes in store for you and we’re hoping to reveal the media center at the end of the week!

Did you do anything interesting this weekend?
When you have guest over, do you do anything different in your home? Light scented candles, play soft music, etc.? 

3 thoughts on “Weekend Update – 1.13.2014

  1. Pingback: Walking with Maggie! | My Cajun Trinity

  2. Pingback: Lunch at Nash’s | My Cajun Trinity

  3. Pingback: Meal and Workout Plan – Week 4 | My Cajun Trinity

Leave a Reply

