Determination

I cannot believe we are already halfway through the week. Let’s quickly go through lunch because I have a more important topic to discuss later in this post.

Today I made myself a classic childhood lunch, Peanut Butter & Jelly. I still crave this yummy lunch as a grown-up and I’ve figured out a way to enjoy it in a healthier, lighter way.

A few months ago, I discovered Nature’s Own Whole Wheat Sandwich Rounds. One roll consist of only 100 calories. I use these for everything and even used them to make bread crumbs once.

Image

I used two rolls (4 slices) to make my PB & J sandwiches. I used Natural Skippy Creamy Peanut Butter and placed grape jelly on two slices and honey on the other two slices. I cut up a Jazz apple to have on the side for added nutrients. I swear I became a kid again while eating this meal since it was very messy and I got honey all over my hands and a bit on my white shirt. Why is it that every time you wear white, you happen to spill something on that clothing item? It never fails for me.

DSC03277

It’s all about Determination!

Today I heard on the radio that the 8th day of the year is usually the determining factor of whether or not you’ll continue with your New Year’s resolutions. Did you decide to start going back to the gym, eat healthier, participate in your community more, commit to faith and prayer more, engage in family activities, etc.?

Why is it that we give up so quickly? Personally, I think it’s because it’s NOT EASY.

It sure is easy to place pizza rolls in the microwave, sit on the couch and watch a whole season of Breaking Bad, go shopping for yourself, or text your loved ones instead of visiting with them in person. Am I guilty of one of these? Of course I am, I’m guilty of all of them. Well, I haven’t watched a single episode of Breaking Bad, but I hear it’s one of the best series of all time.

I just want all of you to know that I’m a real person, but at the same time, I also try to be a very determined person. Yes, sometimes it’s so easy to slip into a lazy routine, but I strive my best to rise above the simple way out. Below are a few ways I stay determined:

  • I look to the future. I want to see my kids graduate college and hopefully see my grandbabies graduate college as well. I want to stay in shape so that I can play with them and hopefully teach all of them how to dance and play basketball. Sure, I’m conscious of my body, but I’m more concerned about my health in the future.
  • I try to stay as educated as I can about health, fitness and I’m currently working on educating myself more with community involvement. I read blogs, I like Facebook pages that relate to health, fitness, ways to give back, etc. Just yesterday I found this link that listed 30 reasons Why Women Should Strength Train. It’s incredible how important it is for us ladies to pump that iron.
  •  I motivate myself with mantras. Some of my favorites are “You’ve never regretted a workout”, “Just Do It” (Nike slogan) and “Do it for those that can’t”. I’ll never forget the day I walked out the gym and saw a guy walking in with a prosthetic leg. Talk about motivation right there. If he can, what’s your excuse?
  • If I do skip a workout or indulge, I don’t let it discourage me. It’s all about consistency. The next day I make it a point to eat a little healthier or complete a harder work out.
  • I try not to watch too much crap television. Brett and I can usually agree to keep the channel on HGTV most nights. His favorite channels are the History and Discovery channels and the only series we are currently watching at the moment is The Biggest Loser (talk about determination there).

So, if you made a New Year’s resolution, stay determined to make it throughout the entire 365 days of 2014 and then it will become second nature before you know it. Also remember that it’s not about being perfect, it’s about being consistent. Trust me, I would never deprive myself of a cupcake if the opportunity presented itself. Enjoy life, but if you’re striving to improve your health and fitness, keep it balanced.

Please note that I’m not an expert, these are just simply my own thoughts. My own personal resolutions are to find more ways to give back to others and to be more positive in any situation. I’m not going to lie, my progress is not great, but I’m staying DETERMINED!

My Dad always told me this saying while I was in college, “It’s not supposed to be simple, otherwise everyone would be able to do it”. I’ve carried that saying with me past college and I think it’s a great way to end this post. Rise to the challenge because you deserve to be the best version of yourself.

Did you make a New Year’s resolution? Are you staying determined?
Do you have any favorite mantras that motivate you?

5 thoughts on “Determination

  1. Pingback: Weekend Update | My Cajun Trinity

  2. Pingback: Friday Finds III | My Cajun Trinity

  3. Pingback: Lunch at Nash’s | My Cajun Trinity

  4. Pingback: ONE YEAR | My Cajun Trinity

  5. Pingback: First Meal and Workout Plan for the Week | My Cajun Trinity

Leave a Reply

