Circuit, Guacamole, and Quesadillas!

When I fail to get myself to the gym in the morning, I’m always regretting the decision of sleeping in around 4 o’clock in the afternoon. This was the case today. Even though I was feeling regretful, I still got myself to the gym in time to take a Circuit Training class.

I started taking Circuit Training classes last year. I can remember passing the class in the past and wondering to myself what in the world was going on in the class. It seemed like everyone was doing a different exercise at the same time and that’s exactly what was happening.

The class begins with ten minutes of abs using the medicine ball. The class then gets divided evenly into two groups. One group stays in the middle of the room to complete an exercise given by the instructor (lunges, jumping jacks, burpees, etc). Sometimes the instructor challenges you even more and ask that you do the exercise with a medicine ball. The other half of the class picks one of the 15 stations that surround the room and completes the exercise specified at the station (cardio and strength exercises). When one minute is up, the groups switch out. When you return to the stations portion, you move clockwise to the next station. So at the end of the workout you end up doing around 30 exercises for one minute each. The class last 50 minutes, but since you’re moving around so much, the time passes quickly. It’s so much fun and reminds me of Basketball PE in high school.

When I returned home, I quickly got to work in the kitchen. On the menu tonight was Guacamole and Quesadillas. This meal is a go-to for me, and has been since my college years. I recently started adding the guacamole to the mix for extra nutrients. I actually prepared my guacamole during my lunch break.

image

Guacamole:

2 Avocados, peeled
1/8 of red onion, finely chopped
1 Roma tomato, chopped
1 tablespoon of lime juice
Salt and Pepper to taste

Mix all of the ingredients, chill for a few hours and enjoy!

A few days ago I showed you how I cut my avocados; however, I didn’t show you how I get the pit out. I simply wack the pit with my knife and twist it out.

image-1

To make the Chicken Quesadillas I simply cook my chicken and cube it afterwards, then slice and sautee a half of an onion. I then lightly butter my whole wheat tortillas using Country Crock Light margarine, and heat on both sides in skillet. I add low-fat cheese to the whole tortilla and the chicken and onions to one side of the tortilla. Once the cheese melts, I add the rest of my toppings and enjoy.

image-2

Tonight I topped with black olives, sour cream (I usually use plain greek yogurt, but the store was out of stock this week), and spinach. I then dipped my quesadilla into the gaucamole. Simple and delicious.

image-3

What did you have for dinner tonight?  

4 thoughts on “Circuit, Guacamole, and Quesadillas!

  1. Pingback: Ava and Fries! | My Cajun Trinity

  2. Pingback: Pin It Party | My Cajun Trinity

  3. Pingback: Meal and Workout Plan – Week 2 | My Cajun Trinity

  4. Pingback: How to Remove Candle Wax? | My Cajun Trinity

Leave a Reply

