Happy New Year 2014!

I hope everyone brought the New Year in with lots of fun and with the ones you love. Yes, I know I’m a day late but I couldn’t get pictures to upload on my iPad yesterday. I’m limited to my resources until I can get my computer fixed. I’m hoping to have those issues resolved this coming weekend.
New Year's

Brett and I spent the evening at our neighbor’s house. They made brisket and other yummy sides. It was a great way to bring in the New Year and we were both able to have a few celebratory drinks since we could walk home.

My exercise for yesterday consisted of a brisk walk around the neighborhood since I knew the gym would be super packed with others starting their New Year’s resolutions. While I think that is amazing, I decided to keep my workout minimal since my legs were pretty sore from yesterday’s workout.

I spent the remainder of the day taking down Christmas decorations and pricing items for a future garage sale.

Tree

I have to admit, it was so difficult for me to take down my Christmas decorations. The décor added so much warmth to the house and I hated to see it all disappear. Now I’m on a quest to add some décor to the house that still speaks winter, but isn’t so much Christmas themed. I’ve been brainstorming ideas for a tablescape for my dining table and I promise to share once it’s done. Another exciting note is that I’m expecting my lamp bases for my buffet table this week.

At the end of the day I prepared two meals. One for last night, and since I had the extra time on my day off from work, I also prepared a meal for another night in the week. More details on that meal to come in another post.

There are many different traditions that some may follow for meals on New Year’s Day. I try to incorporate some of those traditions into our meal every year. This year I prepared smothered cabbage, which symbolizes wealth; and pork, which symbolizes either a wish for health or good luck, since pigs root forward. Black eyed peas are also popular to eat since they are meant to bring good luck and prosperity. Unfortunately, I do not care for the peas, unless it’s the band, The Black Eyed Peas. Their upbeat music pumps me up so much during any sort of workout.

Again, Happy New Year and may all your wishes come true in 2014!

Stay tuned, a recipe post and my first DIY post to come soon.

Do you follow any other traditions during New Year’s day?

5 thoughts on “Happy New Year 2014!

  1. Pingback: Christmas 2014 – Part II | My Cajun Trinity

Leave a Reply

