Grapefruit and Bacon Salad

Happy New Year’s Eve!  I only had to work half a day and came home just in time for lunch. This past weekend I noticed a yummy recipe for a salad in my Cooking Light magazine. Although it looked delish, it called for a few things that didn’t interest me and a dressing that I would have had to make from scratch. So, instead of following the recipe, I decided to use it as an inspiration and created my own version of the salad. I started with the following ingredients:

20131231-163958.jpg

Spinach, grapefruit, avocado, red onion, sprinkle of Parmesan cheese, and Marzetti, Simply Dressed Vinaigrette.

I then sliced the red onion thin and sautéed it with some olive oil.

20131231-164706.jpg

Then I cut a grid into half an avocado, squeezed gently, then used a spoon to scoop up the chunks.

20131231-165005.jpg

I then defrosted four strips of reduced sodium bacon. I like to freeze my bacon since I never use the entire packet and it’s far too expensive to waste. I only used two strips of bacon for my salad today but plan to use the other strips with the other leftover ingredients tomorrow for lunch. I then placed everything together in a bowl.

20131231-165405.jpg

After mixing it all up, I sat down and enjoyed this light, but full of flavor salad. I’m already looking forward to lunch tomorrow.

After letting my food go down, I headed over to the gym to do my last workout of 2013. I followed a workout from another blog, Peanut Butter Fingers. It went a little something like this…

5 minute run, 3 sets of 15 reps bicep curls, 5 minute run, 3 sets of 15 reps hammer curls, 5 minute run, 3 sets of 15 reps tricep extensions, 5 minute run, 3 sets of 15 reps dips, 5 minute run, 3 sets of 15 reps overhead press, 5 minute run, 3 sets of 15 rep laterals, 5 minute run

It was a toss up between cardio and upper body strength. It was a fantastic workout to end 2013 and I sure was a sweaty mess.

Hope you all have a safe New Year’s Eve. Brett and I plan to go to a neighbor’s party once he gets in from work. Unfortunately, I don’t think we’re going to stay up too late since he has work tomorrow. Here is to a wonderful New Year in 2014!

2 thoughts on “Grapefruit and Bacon Salad

  1. Pingback: Circuit, Gaucamole, and Quesadillas! | My Cajun Trinity

  2. Pingback: Pin It Party | My Cajun Trinity

Leave a Reply

